Cirque du Soleil's star makes Québec shine on Hollywood Walk of Fame

Québec City, November 22, 2010 – On behalf of the Government of Québec, the Minister of International Relations and Minister Responsible for La Francophonie, Monique Gagnon-Tremblay, wishes to congratulate Mr. Guy Laliberté and Cirque du Soleil on having been honoured with a star on the Hollywood Walk of Fame.

On the occasion of the prestigious star's unveiling on the famous Hollywood Boulevard, the Minister applauded this tribute to Guy Laliberté's work, creative genius and impact on the international scene. “This prestigious star to which great artists aspire, and which is now his, is yet another example of Cirque du Soleil's expertise and stature. It is a source of pride for all Quebecers,” she noted.

The Québec Government Office in Los Angeles also took the opportunity to announce that Québec plans to organize three weeks of activities in September, 2011 in Hollywood, Los Angeles to promote Québec creators, companies and institutions. The program's details will be released at a later date and will revolve around a major event: the premiere of Cirque du Soleil's permanent show at the Kodak Theater on Hollywood Boulevard. “This is an extraordinary chance to promote Québec in California in the sectors and fields of activity that the Québec Government's U.S. Strategy seeks to enhance,” added the Minister.

Cirque du Soleil was the first partner to confirm its support of this project and will
collaborate closely on the activities to be presented in September, 2011.

-30-

Information : 418 649-2400 ext. 57174

Back to list

L'étoile du Cirque du Soleil fait briller le Québec sur le Hollywood Walk of Fame

Québec, le 22 novembre 2010 – La ministre des Relations internationales et ministre responsable de la Francophonie, Monique Gagnon-Tremblay, souhaite féliciter, au nom du gouvernement du Québec, monsieur Guy Laliberté pour son intronisation et celle du Cirque du Soleil au Hollywood Walk of Fame.
À l'occasion du dévoilement de la prestigieuse étoile sur le célèbre Hollywood Boulevard, la ministre a tenu à saluer cette reconnaissance à l'égard de l'oeuvre de Guy Laliberté qui témoigne de son génie créatif et de son impact sur la scène internationale. « Cette étoile prestigieuse à laquelle de grands artistes aspirent, et qui est maintenant sienne, est une autre manifestation du savoir-faire et de l'envergure du Cirque du Soleil. Les Québécoises et les Québécois en sont tous fiers ! », a-t-elle souligné.
La Délégation du Québec à Los Angeles a profité de l'occasion pour annoncer que le Québec entend organiser trois semaines d'activités au mois de septembre 2011 dans la ville de Los Angeles, à Hollywood, afin de promouvoir des créateurs, des entreprises et des institutions québécoises. La programmation, dont les détails seront diffusés ultérieurement, sera structurée autour d'un événement majeur soit la présentation de la première du spectacle permanent du Cirque du Soleil au Kodak Theater sur Hollywood Boulevard. « Il s'agit-là d'une occasion extraordinaire pour la promotion du Québec en Californie et ce, dans des secteurs et des domaines d'activités que la Stratégie du gouvernement du Québec à l'égard des États-Unis propose de mettre valeur », a ajouté la ministre.
Le Cirque du Soleil a été le premier partenaire à confirmer son soutien à ce projet et collaborera étroitement aux activités qui seront présentées au cours du mois de septembre 2011.

-30-

Information : 418 649-2400 poste 57861

Retour à la liste