Mission to New York : A first for Quebec at the UN and high-level meetings in New York

New York, September 23, 2013 - While attending an International Organization of La Francophonie (IOF) ministerial meeting, Jean-François Lisée, Minister of International Relations, La Francophonie and External Trade (MRIFCE), took advantage of his time in New York to lead a 48-hour mission aimed at highlighting and giving new impetus to Quebec–New York State relations.

A first international meeting for Quebec

For the first time ever, Quebec, represented by Minister Lisée, was invited to take part in an IOF ministerial meeting, held during the 68th Session of the UN General Assembly. The Minister addressed a range of subjects including efforts toward democratic transition in Egypt, the Democratic Republic of the Congo and Mali, Quebec's work regarding crisis and conflict resolution and the importance of strengthening La Francophonie's role in protecting women's rights, an issue the Marois government takes to heart, as stated at the 14th Summit of La Francophonie.

The Minister also took the opportunity to continue the dialogue he initiated with his African counterparts on his most recent economic mission to Africa. With Minister Christian Paradis, he discussed Quebec's concerns regarding Haiti and the Canadian International Development Agency (CIDA).

The importance of Quebec–New York State relations

During his visit to New York, the minister held a series of high-level political and economic meetings to reiterate the importance of Quebec's relationship with the state. The State of New York is Quebec's main trading partner in the United States and has been identified as a priority for the continued development of mutually beneficial relations in the area.

The Minister of International Relations and External Trade had the opportunity to meet with the state's Lieutenant Governor, Robert Duffy, with whom he discussed a number of issues relating to the economy, energy and transport. Many more bilateral talks covering the same issues with some of New York's senior public servants revealed the extent to which Quebec is seen as a reliable and dynamic partner.

"The United States and in particular the State of New York are of great importance to Quebec's international relations. I wanted to come back here because I thought we really needed to make it clear that we have every intention to maintain and even strengthen our political and commercial ties. From my meeting with Lieutenant Governor Duffy, I've gathered that the enthusiasm is mutual," said Lisée.

Finally, Lisée met with Quebec businesses taking part in Advertising Week, an international gathering of marketing and communications leaders from around the world.

-30-

Source :
Caroline Julie Fortin
Press Officer
Office of the Minister of International Relations, La Francophonie and External Trade
418 649-2319

Information :
Guillaume Sarra-Bournet
Communications Advisor
Direction des communications
418 649-2400 poste 57277

Back to list

Mission à New York : une première pour le Québec à l’ONU et des rencontres de haut niveau à New York

New York, le 23 septembre 2013 - Le ministre des Relations internationales et de la Francophonie (MRIFCE), Jean-François Lisée, a profité de sa présence à New York dans le cadre d’une concertation ministérielle de l’Organisation internationale de la Francophonie (OIF) pour mener une mission de 48 heures destinée à réaffirmer l’importance des relations Québec-État de New York et à leur insuffler un nouvel élan.

Une première internationale pour le Québec

Le ministre Lisée représentait le Québec alors que celui-ci était invité pour la première fois à prendre part à une concertation ministérielle de l’Organisation internationale de la Francophonie (OIF), laquelle était tenue en marge de la 68e Session de l’Assemblée générale des Nations Unies. L’intervention du ministre a notamment porté sur les efforts de transition démocratique en Égypte, en République démocratique du Congo et au Mali, sur les efforts du Québec en matière de résolution de crises et de conflits et sur l’importance de renforcer le rôle de la Francophonie dans le domaine de la défense du droit des femmes, un sujet cher au gouvernement de Pauline Marois tel qu’elle l’avait énoncé lors de sa participation au XIVe Sommet de la Francophonie.

Le ministre a également saisi cette occasion pour poursuivre le dialogue amorcé avec ses homologues africains lors de sa plus récente mission économique en Afrique. Avec le ministre Christian Paradis, il a échangé sur les préoccupations québécoises relativement à Haïti et à l’Agence canadienne de développement international (ACDI).

L’importance des relations Québec-État de New York

Le ministre a profité de sa présence à New York pour tenir une série de rencontres politiques et économiques de haut niveau visant à réaffirmer l’importance des liens entre le Québec et cet État. L’État de New York constitue le premier partenaire commercial du Québec aux États-Unis, un territoire identifié comme prioritaire pour poursuivre le développement de relations mutuellement profitables dans cette région.

Le ministre des Relations internationales et du Commerce extérieur a notamment eu l’occasion de s’entretenir avec le Lieutenant-Gouverneur de l’état, Robert Duffy, avec lequel il a abordé plusieurs questions liées à l’économie, l’énergie et au transport. Plusieurs autres entretiens bilatéraux avec des membres de la haute fonction publique new yorkaise ont porté sur les mêmes thèmes et ont permis de constater à quel point le Québec est reconnu comme un partenaire fiable dynamique.

« Les États-Unis, et plus particulièrement l’État de New York, revêtent une grande importance pour les relations internationales du Québec. Je tenais à revenir ici parce qu’il m’apparaissait important d'envoyer un signal fort de notre intérêt à poursuivre et même à raffermir nos liens politiques et commerciaux. Un engouement réciproque, que j’ai eu l’occasion d’observer lors de ma rencontre avec le Lieutenant-gouverneur Duffy », a affirmé M. Lisée.

Enfin, M. Lisée a rencontré des entreprises québécoises qui participent à l’Advertising Week, un évènement d’envergure internationale qui regroupe les leaders en marketing et communication des quatre coins du globe.

-30-

Source :
Caroline Julie Fortin
Attachée de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Relations internationales et de la Francophonie
418 649-2319

Information :
Guillaume Sarra-Bournet
Conseiller en communication
Direction des communications
418 649-2400 poste 57277

Retour à la liste