Mission by Minister Jean-François Lisée to China – Québec SMEs set up shop in China

Beijing, October 15, 2013 - Jean-François Lisée, the Minister of International Relations, La Francophonie and External Trade, has been in China since Monday. He has been able to witness first-hand the success and progress of a number of Québec companies in the Chinese market. Three Québec consumer products companies took advantage of his trip to Beijing to announce the opening of their first boutiques in China.

“The emergence of a middle class with growing purchasing power is opening up new niches for our distinctive products. China is becoming an attractive market for our designers, manufacturers and distributors,”, the Minister noted.

Montréal company M0851, which designs and manufactures its original leather bags, coats and accessories in Montréal, set the ball rolling by inaugurating its first boutique in continental China in the heart of a trendy commercial district close to downtown Beijing.

Montréal-based Maison Birks, Canada’s premier luxury jewellery brand, also announced this week that it will be opening its first store in China in early 2014 at Beijing’s Xanadu Plaza. The company made the announcement in the presence of Jean-François Lisée and numerous media representatives. The decision is the fruit of several years of hard work by the company, with help from the Government of Québec, which proved crucial.

A third company, Judith & Charles, which designs women’s fashion, is celebrating the opening of its first franchises in continental China. Judith & Charles, which will be participating in the exclusive Montréal Collections fashion show in Shanghai this week, announced the opening of a boutique in Guangshou and a second in Wuhan, and is considering the possibility of adding other stores in 2014.

“We are seeing an evolution in our trade relations with China. While “Made in China” products were the norm not so long ago, now it’s possible to manufacture “Made in Québec” products for the Chinese market. This new trend should provide the inspiration for others to try their hand,” added Mr. Lisée.

This exciting day in Beijing ended with a networking reception marking the 15th anniversary of the Québec Government Office in Beijing. The reception was also an occasion for three announcements: Novalux will stage a new show in China, McGill University has signed an agreement with the Beijing University of Posts and Telecommunications to strengthen existing ties and to develop a research and training collaborative framework while Alliance numérique has signed a Memorandum of Understanding with the China Cultural Industry Association (CCIA), an agency of the Chinese Ministry of Culture. As part of the MOU, CCIA will represent China as the guest country of honour at the next Montréal International Game Summit.

Jinan - Shandong

Monday saw the signing of the minutes of the 3rd Québec-Shandong Working Group in the capital of the Province of Shandong, which has been twinned with Québec since 2008. Six cooperation projects were selected in the fields of education, vocational training, urban land use, culture and the environment.

The development of political, cultural and business ties was at the heart of a productive meeting between the Québec Minister and the Deputy Governor of Shandong, who announced that he will see to the creation of a Québec Demonstration Zone that will help raise awareness of Québec know-how in Shandong.

Meetings were also held with the Dean of the Institute of Economic and Environmental Law at the University of Shandong and the Director of the Shandong Regional Museum, with which the Musée de la civilisation in Québec City wishes to develop exhibition exchanges.

Québec and Shandong, both members of the Conference of Heads of Government of Partner Regions, have developed strong cooperative relationships since 2002 in various spheres, including the economy, trade, research and innovation, training, education and tourism.

-30-

Information :
Bruno Sarra-Bournet
Communications Officer
418 455-2888

Back to list

Mission du ministre Lisée en Chine - Des PME québécoises s'installent en Chine

Beijing, le 15 octobre 2013 - En Chine depuis lundi, le ministre des Relations internationales et de la Francophonie, Jean-François Lisée, a pu constater le succès et les avancées que connaissent plusieurs entreprises québécoises sur le marché chinois. Trois entreprises québécoises actives dans la vente de biens de consommation ont profité de son passage à Beijing pour annoncer l'ouverture de leurs premières boutiques en sol chinois.

« L'émergence d'une classe moyenne au pouvoir d'achat croissant ouvre de nouvelles possibilités de niches pour nos produits distinctifs. La Chine devient ainsi un marché offrant des perspectives intéressantes pour nos concepteurs, nos fabricants et nos distributeurs », a indiqué le ministre Lisée.

La montréalaise M0851, connue pour ses produits originaux, sacs, manteaux et accessoires de cuir, conçus et fabriqués dans la métropole, a ouvert le bal en inaugurant sa première boutique en Chine continentale, à Beijing, en plein cœur d'une zone commerciale en vogue, à proximité du centre-ville.

Pour sa part, le chef de file de la bijouterie basé à Montréal, Maison Birks, annonce aussi cette semaine l'ouverture prochaine de sa première boutique en Chine, prévue pour le début de 2014, au Xanadu Plaza de Beijing. C'est en présence du ministre Lisée et de nombreux représentants des médias que l'entreprise fait cette annonce, résultat de démarches entreprises il y a plusieurs années et pour lesquelles l'accompagnement du gouvernement québécois s'est révélé crucial.

Une troisième entreprise, dans le domaine de la mode cette fois, s'est réjouie de l'ouverture de ses premiers points de vente en Chine continentale. Judith & Charles, qui participera cette semaine au défilé exclusif Montréal Collections à Shanghai, a annoncé l'ouverture de deux boutiques dans les villes de GuangZhou et WuHan, et considère accroître le nombre de ses boutiques en 2014.

« Nous assistons à une évolution de nos relations commerciales avec la Chine : alors qu'il n'y a pas si longtemps prévalait le modèle des produits « fabriqués en Chine », nous constatons qu'il est aussi maintenant possible de fabriquer au Québec des produits destinés à la Chine. Cela devrait en inspirer certains à se lancer », a ajouté M. Lisée.

Cette journée fertile à Beijing s'est conclue par une réception de réseautage soulignant le 15e anniversaire du Bureau du Québec à Beijing. Trois annonces ont été faites à cette occasion : Novalux mettra en scène un nouveau spectacle en Chine, l'Université McGill a conclu une entente avec la Beijing University of Posts and Telecommunications dans le but de renforcer les liens existants et de mettre en place un cadre de collaboration en recherche et formation, et l'Alliance numérique a signé une lettre d'intention avec la China Cultural Industry Association (CCIA), laquelle relève du ministère chinois de la Culture, en vue de faire de la CCIA l'invité d'honneur du prochain Sommet international du jeu de Montréal.

Jinan - Shandong

La journée de lundi dans la capitale de la province du Shandong, jumelée au Québec depuis 2008, a donné lieu à la signature du procès-verbal du 3e Groupe de travail Québec-Shandong. Au total, six projets de coopération ont été sélectionnés dans les domaines de l'éducation, de la formation professionnelle, de l'aménagement du territoire urbain, de la culture et de l'environnement.

Le développement des liens politiques, culturels et d'affaires était au cœur d'une fructueuse rencontre du ministre Lisée avec le vice-gouverneur du Shandong, lequel a annoncé qu'il allait voir à ce que soit créée une zone de démonstration québécoise qui permettra de mieux faire connaître le savoir-faire du Québec au Shandong.

Des rencontres ont également été réalisées avec le doyen de l'institut de droit économique et environnemental de l'Université du Shandong et le directeur du Musée provincial du Shandong, avec lequel le Musée de la civilisation de Québec souhaite développer un échange d'expositions.

Le Québec et le Shandong, tous deux membres de la Conférence des chefs de gouvernement des Régions partenaires, ont développé depuis 2002 des liens étroits de coopération dans différents domaines, dont ceux de l'économie, du commerce, de la recherche et de l'innovation, de la formation, de l'éducation et du tourisme.

-30-

Information :
Bruno Sarra-Bournet
Conseiller en communication
418 455-2888

Retour à la liste