Planet Québec returns to South by Southwest in 2014

Québec City, November 20, 2013 - The Minister of Culture and Communications, Maka Kotto, and the Minister of International Relations, La Francophonie and External Trade, Jean-François Lisée, are proud to announce that the Planet Québec showcase will return to the South by Southwest (SXSW) festival, which will run from March 7 to 16, 2014, in Austin, Texas.

"The Québec government has made it a priority to support the promotion and visibility of Québec culture internationally. South by Southwest is a key event for artists and music groups seeking international markets. I am therefore reiterating our support for Québec creators by assisting them throughout the Planet Québec experience," said Minister Kotto.

"South by Southwest is the world’s largest gathering featuring new trends in music, film and technology, three areas in which Québec especially excels. We are proud to once again be able to help creators and entrepreneurs from Québec spotlight Quebec’s talent and expertise beyond our borders," added Minister Lisée.

Planet Québec at SXSW supports market development for our musicians and presenters and our entrepreneurs in multimedia and film. The initiative is an opportunity to highlight Québec as a major incubator for creativity and innovation on the international scene.

Planet Québec’s presence at SXSW is the result of collaboration between the Ministère de la Culture et des Communications and the Ministère des Relations internationales et de la Francophonie. For this edition, the Music component will be coordinated by the Société de développement des entreprises culturelles (SODEC – Society for the Development of Cultural Ventures). Export Québec will coordinate the Interactive Medias component. The Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec (CALQ – Québec Arts Council) and Les Offices jeunesse internationaux du Québec (LOJIQ – Intenrnational Youth Offices of Québec) will also contribute to holding this fourth showcase.

For more information, visit the website:
http://www.mrifce.gouv.qc.ca/planetequebec/en/index.asp.

South by Southwest

In 2013, 72,000 professionals from the music, multimedia (web design, social media, video games, etc.) and film industries took part in this event. SXSW was founded in 1987 and has since gained renown as an international showcase and launching pad for new creators. The event also gets extensive media coverage. In 2013, more than 8,000 media representatives attended SXSW.

-30-

Sources :
Marc-André de Blois
Press Officer
Office of the Minister of Culture and Communications
418 380-2310

Caroline Julie Fortin
Press Officer
Office of the Minister of International Relations, La Francophonie and External Trade
418 649-2319

Information :
Anne-Sophie Lacroix
Media Relations
Ministère de la Culture et des Communications
418 380-2363, poste 7239

Back to list

Retour de Planète Québec à South by Southwest en 2014

Québec, le 20 novembre 2013 - Le ministre de la Culture et des Communications, Maka Kotto, et le ministre des Relations internationales et de la Francophonie, Jean-François Lisée, sont fiers d'annoncer le retour de la vitrine Planète Québec au festival South by Southwest (SXSW), qui aura lieu du 7 au 16 mars 2014, à Austin, au Texas.

« Le gouvernement du Québec s'est donné comme priorité de soutenir la diffusion et le rayonnement de la culture québécoise sur la scène internationale. South by Southwest est un événement incontournable pour les artistes et les groupes musicaux en quête de marchés internationaux. Ainsi, je réitère notre soutien aux créateurs québécois en les accompagnant à travers l'expérience Planète Québec », fait savoir le ministre Kotto.

« South by Southwest est le plus grand rassemblement mondial des nouvelles tendances en musique, en cinéma et en technologie, trois domaines dans lesquels le Québec excelle tout spécialement. Nous sommes fiers de pouvoir, une fois de plus, aider les créateurs et les entrepreneurs québécois à faire connaître le talent et l'expertise du Québec par-delà nos frontières », ajoute le ministre Lisée.

Planète Québec à SXSW appuie le développement de marchés pour nos musiciens, nos organismes de diffusion ainsi que nos entrepreneurs en multimédia et en cinéma. Cette initiative permet au Québec de se faire valoir comme un incubateur de création et d'innovation majeur sur la scène internationale.

La présence de Planète Québec à SXSW est le fruit d'une collaboration entre le ministère de la Culture et des Communications et le ministère des Relations internationales et de la Francophonie. Pour cette édition, la coordination du volet Musique sera assumée par la Société de développement des entreprises culturelles, alors que le volet Médias interactifs sera coordonné par Export Québec. Mentionnons également que le Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec et Les Offices jeunesse internationaux du Québec contribueront à la tenue de cette quatrième vitrine.

Pour plus d'information, consultez le site Web www.planetequebec.net.

South by Southwest

En 2013, 72 000 professionnels des secteurs de la musique, du multimédia (création Web, médias sociaux, jeux vidéo, etc.) et du cinéma y étaient inscrits. Depuis sa création en 1987, SXSW s'est imposé comme un des grands salons internationaux et une plateforme de lancement reconnue pour les nouveaux créateurs. Cet événement jouit également d'une forte couverture médiatique avec, en 2013, la participation de plus de 8 000 représentants des médias.

-30-

Sources :
Marc-André de Blois
Attaché de presse
Cabinet du ministre de la Culture et des Communications
418 380-2310

Caroline Julie Fortin
Attachée de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Relations internationales et de la Francophonie
418 649-2319

Information :
Anne-Sophie Lacroix
Responsable des relations avec les médias
Ministère de la Culture et des Communications
418 380-2363, poste 7239

Retour à la liste