Labour mobility - Québec signs social security agreement with Indian central government

Québec City, November 26, 2013 - Jean-François Lisée, the Minister of International Relations, La Francophonie and External Trade, has signed a Québec-India social security agreement. India was represented for the occasion by Vayalar Ravi, the Federal Minister for Overseas Indian Affairs. Minister Vayalar Ravi is mandated to serve the numerous Indian nationals who have settled abroad. The overseas Indian community is estimated at nearly 25 million and is spread across some 110 countries.

“The agreement signed to today is historic because it is the first government-to-government agreement between Québec and India, a country with a population of some 1.2 billion. It gives Québec a major competitive edge for attracting Indian companies and facilitating the mobility of employees of Québec companies that are established in India or that want to set up operations there. In addition to adding a tool to the External Trade Development Plan that will help increase trade with and diversify Québec exports to India, this agreement is a direct result of the discussions we had with Minister Vayalar Ravi during the last Québec mission to India,” said Minister Jean-François Lisée.

In general terms, the agreement will facilitate the mobility of workers by coordinating Québec and India’s social security schemes. In concrete terms, the agreement will allow employers and workers to continue to contribute to the pension plan of their territory of origin without also having to contribute to the equivalent plan of the host territory.

Québec exports to India increased by an annual average of 8.9% between 2003 and 2012. Bombardier Aerospace, CGI, Exfo, SNC-Lavalin, Fraco, Innovitech and Premier Tech are some of the Québec companies that have operations in India. In turn, many Indian companies have set up operations in Québec, including Tata Communications, Tata Steel, Tata Consulting Services, Piramal Healthcare, Hexaware Technologies, KBMS - Leadsoft and Arcelor Mittal (Anglo-Indian).

The signing of this agreement will also have a positive impact on the large Indian community in Québec. The 2011 household survey indicated that the community is composed of nearly 50,000 people (born abroad, born in Québec or non-permanent residents), 94% of whom live in the Montréal region.

Québec has signed reciprocal social security agreements with 32 countries since 1979. The purpose of these international agreements to ensure that foreign nationals who settle in Québec and people residing in Québec who move to another country receive the benefits to which they are entitled or will be entitled under the social security schemes of their State of origin or their host State, as the case may be.

-30-

Source :
Caroline Julie Fortin
Press Attachée
Office of the Minister of International Relations, La Francophonie and External Trade
418-649-2319

Back to list

Mobilité de la main d'œuvre - Le Québec signe une entente en matière de sécurité sociale avec le gouvernement central indien

Québec, le 26 novembre 2013 - Le ministre des Relations internationales et de la Francophonie, Jean-François Lisée, a signé une entente en matière de sécurité sociale entre le Québec et l'Inde, représentée pour l'occasion par le ministre fédéral des Affaires indiennes d'Outre-mer, Vayalar Ravi. Le ministre Ravi a pour mandat de servir les nombreux ressortissants indiens établis à l'étranger : la diaspora indienne est estimée à près de 25 millions de personnes, établies dans quelque 110 pays.

« L'accord signé aujourd'hui revêt un caractère historique puisqu'il s'agit de la première entente de gouvernement à gouvernement entre le Québec et l'Inde, un pays de quelque 1,2 milliard d'habitants. Elle procure au Québec un avantage comparatif de taille pour attirer des entreprises indiennes sur son territoire et faciliter la mobilité de la main d'œuvre de nos entreprises installées en Inde ou désireuses de le faire. En plus de s'ajouter aux outils du Plan de développement du commerce extérieur qui contribueront à l'accroissement des échanges économiques et à la diversification des exportations québécoises en Inde, la conclusion de cette entente est une conséquence directe des échanges que nous avons eus avec le ministre Ravi lors de la dernière mission du Québec en Inde », a déclaré le ministre Lisée.

Sur le fond, l'entente facilite la mobilité des travailleurs en coordonnant les régimes de sécurité sociale du Québec et de l'Inde. En termes concrets, cette entente permet aux employeurs et aux travailleurs de continuer à cotiser au régime de rentes de leur territoire d'origine sans avoir à cotiser aussi au régime applicable sur le territoire d'accueil.

Les exportations du Québec à destination de l'Inde ont augmenté à un rythme moyen annuel de 8,9 % entre 2003 et 2012. Parmi les entreprises québécoises présentes en Inde on retrouve Bombardier aéronautique, CGI, Exfo, SNC-Lavalin, Fraco, Innovitech et Premier Tech. De même, plusieurs entreprises indiennes sont implantées au Québec, dont Tata Communication, Tata Steel, Tata Consulting Services, Piramal Healthcare Ltd, Les Technologies Hexaware, KBMS - Leadsoft et Arcelor Mittal (anglo-indienne)

La signature de cette entente aura également un impact positif pour l'importante communauté indienne présente au Québec : l'enquête nationale réalisée auprès des ménages en 2011 indique qu'elle compte près de 50 000 personnes (nées à l'étranger, au Québec, et résidents non-permanents), dont 94 % vivent dans la région de Montréal.

Depuis 1979, le Québec a conclu des ententes de réciprocité en matière de sécurité sociale avec 32 pays. Ces ententes internationales ont notamment pour but d'assurer aux ressortissants d'un autre pays qui s'établissent au Québec ainsi qu'aux personnes résidant au Québec qui vont s'établir dans un autre pays les bénéfices des prestations acquises ou en voie de l'être en vertu des régimes de sécurité sociale de leur État d'origine et de leur État d'accueil.

-30-

Source :
Caroline Julie Fortin
Attachée de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Relations internationales et de la Francophonie
418 649-2319

Retour à la liste