Early results from Minister Jean-François Lisée’s mission to Japan

Tokyo, Japon, January 20, 2014 - The first day of the multisectoral mission to Japan headed by Minister Jean-François Lisée has already resulted in the announcement of the signing of three new partnership agreements between Québec and Japanese companies. The Minister is accompanied by a delegation of 35 representatives from Québec companies, organizations and educational institutions.

The announcements were made at a business luncheon where the Minister of International Relations, La Francophonie and External Trade, who began a one-week mission to Japan on Monday, presented Québec’s economic development priorities to over one hundred Japanese business representatives.

“Our government is working hard to help Québec companies and research centres gain access to new export markets. These partnerships are testament to the innovative and creative flair and proven expertise of Québec companies in a number of fields,” noted the Minister.

Appreciation of Québec expertise

Québec company Acquisio, a world leader in media platform solutions for interactive media agencies, and Japanese company IREP announced that they are joining forces in a strategic partnership to create a joint venture that will support Acquisio’s growth initiative in Japan. This partnership will enable Acquisio and IREP to share their expertise and technology in order to provide a solution tailored to the Japanese market. This long-term contract represents a joint investment of $5 million and will lead to the creation of some forty jobs.

Québec company Toon Boom Animation, a world leader in animation technology and digital content, and Japanese firm HeARTBIT Digital Creation have signed an agreement regarding the distribution of Toon Boom’s Storyboard Pro et Harmony software on the Japanese market and their translation into Japanese for local consumers. Given the size of the Japanese animation market, this agreement will allow the new partners to stake out an enviable share of up to 10% of software in the first year.

In the energy field, Hydro-Québec’s Institut de recherche (IREQ) and Japanese group SEI Corporation have teamed up to commercialize a new Li-ion battery technology, including patents for each of the two organizations. The anticipated income from royalties in the medium term will be used to fund the R&D activities of the signatory partners.

The third largest economy in the world and Québec’s seventh largest export market, Japan offers attractive business opportunities as well as challenges in terms of language, culture and trade practices. In this regard, the Minister recalled the essential work carried out by the Québec Government Office in Tokyo that, for 40 years, has helped Québec companies expand into the Japanese market. The anniversary of Québec’s presence in Japan was marked at the end of the first day with a reception that attracted numerous Japanese dignitaries and influential figures.

“Québec is focused on the future: 22.6% of the manufactured goods it exports are related to the hi-tech field, compared to 11.5% for Canada as a whole. Our companies embrace innovation to increase their productivity and competitiveness. The Government of Québec supports the development of innovative products through the National Research and Innovation Policy and facilitates the commercialization and export of these products,” said the Minister.

The mission to Japan continues until Friday. Several meetings of a political or economic nature are planned.

-30-

Source :
Caroline Julie Fortin
Press Attachée
Office of the Minister of International Relations, La Francophonie and External Trade
514 616-8655

Information :
Direction des communications et des affaires publiques
Ministère des Relations internationales et de la Francophonie
418 649-2400

Back to list

Premiers résultats de la mission multisectorielle du ministre Lisée au Japon

Tokyo, Japon, le 20 janvier 2014 - La première journée de la mission multisectorielle menée par le ministre Jean-François Lisée au Japon en compagnie de 35 représentants d'entreprises, d'organismes et d'institutions d'enseignement québécois a déjà permis d'annoncer la signature de trois nouvelles ententes de partenariat entre des entreprises québécoises et japonaises.

Ces annonces se sont déroulées dans le cadre d'un déjeuner d'affaires où le ministre des Relations internationales et de la Francophonie, lequel a entamé lundi une mission d'une semaine au Japon, a présenté les priorités québécoises en matière de développement économique devant plus d'une centaine de représentants des milieux économiques japonais.

« Notre gouvernement ne ménage aucun effort pour appuyer les entreprises et les centres de recherche québécois dans leur conquête de nouveaux marchés d'exportation. En choisissant de s'allier l'expertise québécoise, nos partenaires japonais démontrent que les entreprises québécoises sont innovantes, créatives et qu'elles possèdent un savoir-faire reconnu dans plusieurs domaines », a souligné le ministre.

Appréciation de l'expertise québécoise

L'entreprise québécoise Acquisio, chef de file mondial des plateformes de solutions médias pour les agences de médias interactifs et l'entreprise japonaise IREP ont annoncé qu'elles s'unissaient dans un partenariat stratégique permettant la création d'une co-entreprise qui soutiendra l'initiative de croissance d'Acquisio au Japon. Avec la création de ce partenariat, Acquisio et IREP partagent expertise et technologie afin d'offrir une solution adaptée pour le marché japonais. Ce contrat à long terme représente des investissements communs de cinq millions de dollars et créera à terme une quarantaine d'emplois.

Leader mondial en technologie d'animation et de contenu numérique, la firme québécoise Toon Boom Animation et la japonaise HeARTBIT Digital Creation ont conclu une entente concernant la distribution des logiciels Toon Boom Storyboard Pro et Harmony sur le marché japonais et de leur traduction en japonais pour desservir la clientèle locale. Considérant l'importance du marché japonais de l'animation, cette entente permettra aux nouveaux partenaires de se positionner avantageusement avec une part de marché allant jusqu'à 10 % des logiciels, dès la première année.

Sur le plan énergétique, l'Institut de recherche d'Hydro-Québec (IREQ) et le groupe japonais SEI Corporation s'unissent pour la commercialisation d'une nouvelle technologie dans le domaine des batteries Li-Ion, incluant des brevets propres à chacune des deux institutions. Les revenus anticipés des redevances à moyen terme serviront à financer les activités de recherche et de développement des partenaires signataires.

Troisième économie mondiale et septième client du Québec dans le monde sur le plan des exportations, le Japon présente à la fois des occasions d'affaires à saisir et des défis à surmonter sur le plan de la langue, de la culture et des pratiques commerciales. À cet égard, le ministre a rappelé le travail essentiel de la Délégation générale du Québec à Tokyo qui, depuis 40 ans, accompagne les Québécois dans leurs objectifs d'expansion en sol nippon. L'anniversaire de la présence québécoise au Japon a d'ailleurs été souligné en fin de jour lors d'une réception offerte pour l'occasion à laquelle étaient présents nombreux dignitaires et personnalités influentes du Japon.

« Le Québec est résolument tourné vers l'avenir : 22,6 % de ses biens manufacturés exportés sont liés au domaine de la de haute-technologie, contre 11,5 % pour le Canada. Nos entreprises misent sur l'innovation pour accroître leur productivité et leur compétitivité. Le gouvernement du Québec soutient le processus de développement de produits innovants dans le cadre de la Politique nationale de la recherche et de l'innovation et veille à en faciliter la commercialisation en matière de commerce extérieur », a précisé le ministre Lisée.

La mission au Japon se poursuit jusqu'à vendredi. Plusieurs rencontres de nature politique et économique sont prévues.

-30-

Source :
Caroline Julie Fortin
Attachée de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Relations internationales et de la Francophonie
514 616-8655

Information :
Direction des communications et des affaires publiques
Ministère des Relations internationales et de la Francophonie
418 649-2400

Retour à la liste