Québec government condemns decision to continue requiring visas for Mexican citizens

Montréal City, February, 2014 - As the North American Leaders’ Summit ended this week in Toluca, Mexico, Minister of International Relations, La Francophonie and External Trade Jean-François Lisée expressed deep disappointment over the Canadian government’s decision to maintain the imposition of visas for Mexican nationals since the requirement seriously jeopardizes Québec-Mexico relations.

Impacts on Québec-Mexico economic relations
Mexico is Québec’s fifth largest trading partner worldwide and its largest in Latin America. Since the imposition of visas in 2009, Québec’s tourism industry has seen the number of Mexican tourists plummet by more than 60%, from 89,400 vacationers in 2008 to 32,700 in 2011. In terms of annual economic benefits, this translates to a loss of close to $60 million for Québec.

As we celebrate the 20th anniversary of NAFTA, which aims to make North America an exporting region through better regional integration, it is contradictory for Canada to hinder that integration by imposing such heavy restrictions on the mobility of people.

The value of Québec exports to Mexico was nearly $1 billion ($973.3 million) in 2012. It was only $111.2 million in 1993. The growth represents a 775% increase in the span of 20 years. Exports to Mexico have therefore increased eightfold since the entry into force of NAFTA.

Maintaining the Canadian visa requirement goes counter to NAFTA’s objectives and the federal government’s statement to help make North America “the most competitive and dynamic region in the world.”

“The federal government’s decision is detrimental to the development of our exchanges with Mexico, particularly in the area of trade. By restricting the flow of partners in this way, the federal government is hampering the efforts of our companies at a time when Mexico is presenting new opportunities, especially in the energy and high tech sectors,” noted Minister Lisée. Mexico is currently undertaking a series of reforms in sectors where Québec businesses have solid expertise and where the Mexican demand is increasingly strong, such as energy and telecommunications.

“While the visa policy promoted by Ottawa is restrictive for Mexicans, it is even more so for Quebecers,” added Minister Lisée.

Québec’s position
The Québec government is aware of the problem of asylum seekers from Mexico, but is not in agreement with the federal government’s decision to impose visas on Mexican nationals. The Premier of Québec made that position known to the President of Mexico when she met with him during her mission to Mexico in June 2013.

It is the federal government’s responsibility to take appropriate measures to significantly reduce the asylum application processing time in order to limit negative impacts. The Québec government will closely monitor developments related to this issue.

-30-

Back to list

Le gouvernement du Québec dénonce le maintien des visas obligatoires pour les citoyens mexicains

Montréal, le 22 février 2014 - Alors que s'est terminé cette semaine le sommet des dirigeants nord-américains à Toluca au Mexique, le ministre des Relations internationales et de la Francophonie, Jean-François Lisée, tient à exprimer sa profonde déception face à la décision du gouvernement canadien de maintenir l'imposition de visas pour les ressortissants mexicains puisque ce visa porte préjudice aux relations Québec-Mexique de manière significative.

Des conséquences sur les relations économiques Québec-Mexique
Le Mexique est le 5e partenaire commercial du Québec dans le monde et le 1er en Amérique latine. Depuis l'imposition de ce visa en 2009, l'industrie québécoise du tourisme a vu le nombre de touristes mexicains chuter de plus de 60 %, passant de 89 400 vacanciers en 2008 à 32 700 en 2011. Cela se traduit par une perte en termes de retombées économiques annuelles de près de 60 millions de dollars pour le Québec.

Au moment où nous célébrons les 20 ans de l'ALÉNA qui vise entre autres une meilleure intégration régionale pour faire de l'Amérique du Nord une région exportatrice, il est contradictoire que le Canada impose un frein à cette intégration par des restrictions aussi grandes à la mobilité des personnes.

La valeur des exportations du Québec au Mexique s'élève à près de 1 G$ (973,3 M$) en 2012. Elle n'était que de 111,2 M$ en 1993, ce qui représente une croissance de 775 % en 20 ans. Les exportations vers le Mexique ont donc été multipliées par huit depuis l'entrée en vigueur de l'ALENA.

Maintenir le visa canadien est contraire avec les objectifs mêmes de l'ALENA et la déclaration du gouvernement fédéral de contribuer à « faire de la région Nord-Américaine la plus compétitive et dynamique au monde. »

« Cette décision du gouvernement fédéral nuit au développement de nos échanges, notamment commerciaux avec le Mexique. En restreignant ainsi la circulation des partenaires, le gouvernement fédéral entrave les efforts de nos entreprises à un moment où le Mexique offre de nouvelles opportunités, notamment dans les secteurs de l'énergie et des hautes technologies », a tenu à préciser le ministre Lisée. Le Mexique mène actuellement une série de réformes dans des secteurs où les entreprises québécoises possèdent une solide expertise et où la demande mexicaine est de plus en plus forte tels que l'énergie et les télécommunications.

« Si la politique de visas promue par Ottawa est restrictive pour les Mexicains, elle l'est d'autant plus pour les Québécois », a renchérit le ministre Lisée.

La position québécoise
Le gouvernement du Québec est conscient du problème des demandeurs d'asile en provenance du Mexique, mais n'est pas en accord avec la décision du gouvernement fédéral d'imposer des visas aux ressortissants mexicains. La première ministre du Québec avait d'ailleurs fait connaître cette position au président mexicain qu'elle a rencontré à l'occasion de sa mission au Mexique, au mois de juin 2013.

Il revient au gouvernement fédéral de prendre les mesures appropriées pour réduire de façon importante le délai de traitement des demandes d'asile afin d'en limiter les impacts négatifs. Le gouvernement du Québec suivra attentivement les développements relatifs à cette question.

-30-

Retour à la liste