Planet Quebec at South by Southwest™ - Québec’s creators earn recognition and praise for their talent

Quebec City, March 17, 2014 - The Planet Quebec showcase at South by Southwest (SXSW), which took place from March 7 to 15, 2014 in Austin, Texas, was once again an overwhelming success. Québec’s expertise and talent gained further recognition at Planet Quebec’s fourth appearance, as several creators distinguished themselves, including Québec-based company Synbiota and directors Monia Chokri and Vincent Morisset, who each received an award.

Three distinctions for Québec

Synbiota won the SXSW® Accelerator competition in the Innovative World Technologies category for its distinctive virtual collaboration platform, which allows the scientific community around the globe to share expertise and use genetic engineering techniques to solve highly complex problems.

Vincent Morisset, director and founder of AATOAA studio, won an Interactive Award in the Music category for his video of the song Just a Reflektor by Montreal-based group Arcade Fire. This is the second award he has received at SXSW; his first award was given to him in 2012 in the Art category for his BLA BLA, a film for computer project.

Finally, director and actress Monia Chokri was presented the award for best narrative short film for Quelqu’un d’extraordinaire. It should be noted that over 2,000 films were submitted to SXSW 2014 in this category.

Business opportunities for the taking

At the trade show, Québec drew quite a bit of attention with remarkable companies like Brandicted, Float4 and Kiwili, and thanks to representatives from Investissement Québec and the Québec Film and Television Council. During their visit, several hundreds of visitors made their way to the Planet Quebec stand to learn more about business opportunities in Québec and its strategic position as an innovation hub in interactive media, film and music. The Interactive Media activities were coordinated by Export Québec.

“Coming to SXSW to launch our Web site and talk to potential business partners is a unique opportunity for a company like ours and an unbelievable experience. We are already feeling the effects of our participation and are planning to return next year," explained Jonathan Stoikovitch, President of Brandicted.

Music event is a big hit

Thousands of admissions were counted at Maggie Mae's, a bar and music venue, during the two days it was reserved for Planet Quebec’s music acts. Festival-goers and industry professionals were won over by the infectious beats of the twenty some Québec music groups that came to show off their talent.

“Any up-and-coming artist who hopes to develop an international audience has to be in Austin for SXSW." Planet Quebec gives us an opportunity to be seen and heard by industry leaders," explained FOXTROTT.

In addition to introducing Québec’s musical trends to SXSW audiences, both the artists and the organizations presenting them (Envol et Macadam, Pop Montreal, M for Montreal and Scene 1425) used this major international event to develop new markets. One of the activities in which the organizations participated was a Planet Quebec networking event designed to put them in contact with other international festivals. Music events were coordinated by the Société de développement des entreprises culturelles, in cooperation with the Ministère de la Culture et des Communications.

A warm reception for Québec directors

Stage Fright, a horror musical comedy directed by Jérôme Sable, made its world premiere at SXSW. Short fiction films Nous avions by Stéphane Moukarzel and Quelqu'un d'extraordinaire by Monia Chokri were screened four times for packed houses.

Planet Quebec, a collective success

It should be noted that Planet Quebec’s showing at SXSW was made possible by cooperation between the Ministère de la Culture et des Communications and the Ministère des Relations internationales et de la Francophonie. Other contributors included the Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec, the Société de développement des entreprises culturelles and the Offices jeunesse internationaux du Québec. In addition, the Québec Government Office in Atlanta worked closely with these organizations on the fourth Planet Quebec, which included Tourisme Québec as a partner in 2014.

-30-

Back to list

Planète Québec à South by Southwest™ - Le talent des créateurs québécois reconnu et acclamé

Québec, le 17 mars 2014 - La vitrine Planète Québec à South by Southwest (SXSW), qui a eu lieu du 7 au 15 mars 2014, à Austin, au Texas, a encore une fois connu un franc succès. L'expertise et le talent québécois ont particulièrement été reconnus lors de cette quatrième édition, alors que plusieurs créateurs se sont distingués, dont la compagnie Synbiota ainsi que les réalisateurs Monia Chokri et Vincent Morisset qui ont chacun reçu un prix.

Trois distinctions pour le Québec
L'entreprise québécoise Synbiota a remporté le concours SXSW® Accelerator, dans la catégorie Innovative World Technologies, pour sa plateforme de collaboration virtuelle unique. Celle-ci permet à la communauté scientifique, provenant des quatre coins du globe, de partager son expertise afin de résoudre les problèmes les plus complexes à l'aide de techniques propres au génie génétique.

Le réalisateur et fondateur du studio AATOAA, Vincent Morisset, a pour sa part gagné le prix interactif dans la catégorie musique pour son vidéoclip, Just a Reflektor, réalisé pour le groupe montréalais Arcade Fire. Ce prix s'ajoute à celui qu'il avait reçu en 2012 à SXSW, dans la catégorie Art, pour son projet BLA BLA, a film for computer.

Puis, la réalisatrice et comédienne Monia Chokri s'est vu décerner le prix du meilleur court-métrage de fiction pour son film Quelqu'un d'extraordinaire. À noter que plus de 2 000 films ont été soumis à SXSW 2014 dans cette catégorie.

Des occasions d'affaires à saisir

Le Québec a su attirer l'attention au salon des exposants avec la présence remarquée des entreprises Brandicted, Float4 et Kiwili ainsi que des représentants d'Investissement Québec et du Bureau du cinéma et de la télévision du Québec. Plusieurs centaines de visiteurs ont profité de leur passage au kiosque de Planète Québec pour en apprendre davantage sur les possibilités d'affaires et la position stratégique du Québec, en tant que pôle d'innovation dans les secteurs des médias interactifs, du cinéma et de la musique. Rappelons que le volet Médias interactifs a été coordonné par Export Québec.

« Venir à SXSW pour lancer notre site Web et échanger avec de potentiels partenaires d'affaires est une occasion unique pour une entreprise comme la nôtre, une expérience incroyable. Les retombées de notre participation se font déjà sentir, et nous prévoyons déjà être de retour l'an prochain », a souligné le président de Brandicted, Jonathan Stoikovitch.

Un volet Musique très couru

Des milliers d'entrées ont été enregistrées au bar-spectacles Maggie Mae's, lors des deux journées réservées aux prestations musicales de Planète Québec. Les festivaliers et les professionnels de l'industrie se sont laissé entraîner par les rythmes accrocheurs de la vingtaine de groupes de musique québécois venus y étaler leur talent.

« Tout artiste de la relève qui aspire à une reconnaissance à l'international doit être à Austin pour SXSW. Planète Québec nous donne l'occasion de nous faire voir et entendre auprès des leaders du milieu », a fait savoir FOXTROTT.

En plus de faire découvrir les tendances musicales de chez nous, les artistes et les organismes de diffusion (Envol et Macadam, Pop Montréal, M pour Montréal et Scène 1425) ont profité de cet événement d'envergure internationale pour développer de nouveaux marchés. Entre autres, les organismes de diffusion ont participé à une activité de réseautage organisée par Planète Québec visant à favoriser les rapprochements avec d'autres festivals internationaux. La coordination du volet Musique a été assumée par la Société de développement des entreprises culturelles, en collaboration avec le ministère de la Culture et des Communications.

Accueil chaleureux pour les réalisateurs québécois

La comédie musicale d'horreur Stage Fright, réalisée par Jérôme Sable, a été présentée en première mondiale à SXSW. Les courts-métrages de fiction Nous avions de Stéphane Moukarzel et Quelqu'un d'extraordinaire de Monia Chokri ont été diffusés à quatre reprises devant des salles bondées.

Planète Québec, un succès collectif

Rappelons que Planète Québec à SXSW est le fruit d'une collaboration entre le ministère de la Culture et des Communications et le ministère des Relations internationales et de la Francophonie. Signalons également que le Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec, la Société de développement des entreprises culturelles ainsi que les Offices jeunesse internationaux du Québec ont contribué à la tenue de cette quatrième vitrine, à laquelle a collaboré étroitement la Délégation du Québec à Atlanta. À cela s'ajoute Tourisme Québec, partenaire de l'édition 2014.

-30-

Retour à la liste