Maritime strategy: Minister Christine St-Pierre on mission to Chicago to strengthen Québec’s relations with its American partners

CHICAGO, IL, April 26, 2014 - Less than 48 hours after her appointment, Christine St-Pierre, the Minister of International Relations and La Francophonie, went on an international mission to attend the executive meeting of the Council of Great Lakes Governors (CGLG), which was held on April 25 and 26 in Chicago, Illinois. The meeting was an excellent opportunity to underscore the importance Québec places on strengthening its economic and political relations with American states in the region and to communicate the Government of Québec’s priorities with respect to crucial issues affecting the American Midwest and Ontario.

The meeting was above all an occasion to formalize the holding of the next Summit of the Council of Great Lakes Governors in Québec in response to a letter of invitation from the Premier of Québec, Philippe Couillard.

“I am delighted that the governors have expressed their desire to hold the summit in Québec, which will, I am sure, raise our collaboration to a whole new level,” said Minister Christine St-Pierre.

Economy, maritime transport and the environment

The Minister took advantage of her presence at the CGLG executive meeting to articulate Québec’s vision with respect to the main issues facing the regional economy and maritime industry given that the Québec government intends to implement a maritime strategy.

“This ambitious maritime strategy will give birth to new drivers of economic growth, provide renewed momentum to a number of industries and enable Québec to take advantage of unique sustainable development opportunities and position itself on the global scene,” said Ms. St-Pierre.

This strategic project will create 30,000 new jobs between 2015 and 2030. It should generate public and private infrastructure investments topping $7 billion and result in tax revenues estimated at over $3.5 billion for the governments of Québec and Canada.

Ms. St-Pierre also laid out Québec’s achievements in connection with the working committees set up at the last Summit on Mackinac Island in 2013, including Québec’s actions in the fight against aquatic invasive species, notably joining the Asian Carp Regional Coordinating Committee (ACRCC) piloted by the White House Council on Environmental Quality (CEQ). The meeting was also an opportunity to discuss common regional issues such as the future of the manufacturing sector.

Lastly, the mission was an opportunity to strengthen Québec’s relations with a number of neighbouring American states, notably by way of discussions with the three participating governors, Pat Quinn (Illinois), Rick Snyder (Michigan) and Scott Walker (Wisconsin). The American Midwest is a strategic region for Québec. One quarter of Québec’s annual exports to the United States, approximately, $10.4 billion, go to the 12 states of this region. In 2013, the value of trade between Québec and the Midwest totalled over $17 billion.

The CGLG

Created in 1983, the CGLG is a regional partnership of the eight Great Lakes states (New York, Pennsylvania, Ohio, Michigan, Indiana, Illinois, Wisconsin and Minnesota) as well as Québec and Ontario. The goal of the Council is to galvanize key political and economic decision-makers in order to achieve concrete economic and environmental objectives.

Minister program

Time

Minister program

Friday, April 25, 2014

11h30

Heads of delegations working lunch

Participants :
Governors, prime ministers, lieutenant governors, state and provincial participants

12:05

Beginning of discussions on maritime transportation in connection with the resolutions adopted at the 2013 Leadership Summit

Progress report by each head of delegation on the other resolutions concerning updates on implementing the Great Lakes Compact and Companion Agreement

13 p.m.

Growing Regional Manufacturing work session

Participants :
Governors, prime ministers, lieutenant governors, state and provincial participants

Discussion between governors, prime ministers, business representatives and leaders on foreign investments in American and Canadian industries led by the moderator

2:30 p.m.

Charting a Shared Future for Our Region work session

Participants :
Governors, prime ministers, lieutenant governors, state and provincial participants, platinum and gold sponsors

Beginning of the round table

3:30 p.m.

End of discussions

Official photo session

4 p.m.

Heads of delegations work session

Participants :
Governors, prime ministers, lieutenant governors, state and provincial participants

Discussions on economic development initiatives

5 p.m.

End of the work session

7 p.m.

Dinner

Participants :
Governors, prime ministers, lieutenant governors, state and provincial heads of delegations, spouses and other guests

Saturday, April 26, 2014

8:30 a.m.

Heads of delegations working breakfast

Participants :
Governors, prime ministers, lieutenant governors, state and provincial heads of delegations and accompanying delegations

Discussions on the Aquatic Invasive Species Task Force

Discussion on the mutual aid agreement to combat the introduction and spread of aquatic invasive species in the Great Lakes-Saint Lawrence River Basin.

8:50 a.m.

Water Monitoring Group presentation by Tim Ede, Executive Director of the Great Lakes Commission, and Paul Seelbach, Senior Science Advisor

9:10 a.m.

Report on the CGGL’s water management activities

9:35 a.m.

Great Lakes Protection Fund presentation

10:45 a.m.

Heads of delegation press conference

END OF MISSION

-30-

Back to list

Stratégie maritime : La ministre St-Pierre en mission à Chicago pour resserrer les liens du Québec avec ses partenaires américains

CHICAGO, IL, le 26 avril 2014 - La ministre des Relations internationales et de la Francophonie, Christine St-Pierre, a participé, moins de 48h après sa nomination, à sa première mission internationale dans le cadre de la réunion du comité exécutif du Conseil des gouverneurs des Grands Lacs (CGGL), qui s'est déroulée les 25 et 26 avril à Chicago, en Illinois. Cette rencontre constituait une occasion privilégiée de souligner l'importance qu'accorde le Québec au renforcement de ses relations économiques et politiques avec les États de la région et de faire valoir les priorités du gouvernement québécois sur des enjeux décisifs touchant la région du Mid-Ouest américain et de l'Ontario.

Cette rencontre a surtout été l'occasion d'officialiser la tenue du prochain Sommet du Conseil des gouverneurs des Grands-Lacs en 2015 au Québec à la suite d'une lettre d'invitation du premier ministre du Québec, M. Philippe Couillard

« Je me réjouis que les Gouverneurs aient manifesté leur souhait de tenir la conférence en sol québécois qui nous permettra, j'en suis certaine, d'amener nos collaborations à un niveau supérieur » a affirmé Mme St-Pierre.

Économie, transport maritime et environnement

La ministre a notamment profité de sa présence au CGGL pour faire valoir la vision du Québec quant aux grands enjeux liés à l'économie et à l'industrie maritime de la région, dans le contexte où le gouvernement québécois entend se doter d'une stratégie maritime.

« Cette ambitieuse stratégie maritime donnera naissance à de nouveaux vecteurs de croissance économique, procurera un nouvel élan à plusieurs industries et permettra au Québec de saisir des occasions uniques de développement durable et de bien se positionner sur l'échiquier économique mondial », a déclaré Mme St-Pierre.

Ce projet porteur sera créateur de 30 000 nouveaux emplois de 2015 à 2030. Il doit générer des investissements publics et privés de plus de 7 milliards de dollars en infrastructures et s'accompagner de retombées fiscales importantes, estimées à plus de 3,5 milliards de dollars pour les gouvernements du Québec et du Canada.

Mme St-Pierre a également présenté les réalisations du Québec en lien avec les comités de travail qui ont été créés lors du dernier Sommet, qui s'est tenu à Mackinac Island en 2013. Parmi celles-ci, notons les actions du Québec dans la lutte contre les espèces aquatiques envahissantes, notamment avec son adhésion au Asian Carp Regional Coordinating Committee (ACRCC), piloté par le Council on Environmental Quality (CEQ) de la Maison-Blanche. Cette rencontre a par ailleurs donné l'occasion d'échanger sur des problématiques régionales communes qui concernent l'avenir du secteur manufacturier.

Enfin, cette mission a été une occasion de resserrer les liens du Québec avec plusieurs États voisins, notamment, en ayant l'occasion de s'entretenir avec les trois gouverneurs présents, soit MM. Pat Quinn (Illinois), Rick Snyder (Michigan) et Scott Walker (Wisconsin). Rappelons que le territoire du Mid-Ouest américain constitue une région stratégique pour le Québec. Le quart des exportations québécoises vers les États-Unis, environ 10,4 G$, se dirige annuellement vers les 12 États de cette région. En 2013, la valeur des échanges commerciaux entre le Québec et le Mid-Ouest étaient de plus de 17 G$.

À propos du CGGL

Fondé en 1983, le CGGL est un forum régional regroupant les huit États des Grands Lacs (New York, Pennsylvanie, Ohio, Michigan, Indiana, Illinois, Wisconsin et Minnesota) en plus du Québec et de l'Ontario. Ce conseil vise à mobiliser les décideurs politiques et économiques de la région vers l'atteinte d'objectifs concrets en matière économique et environnementale.

Programme de la ministre

Heure

Programme de la ministre

Le vendredi 25 avril 2014

11h30

Déjeuner de travail des chefs de délégation

Participants :
Gouverneurs, premiers ministres, lieutenant-gouverneurs, participants des États et provinces

12h05

Début des discussions sur le transport maritime faisant suite aux résolutions adoptées au 2013 Leadership Summit

État de situation par chaque chef de délégation sur les autres résolutions portant sur la mise à jour de la mise en oeuvre de la Great Lakes Compact and Companion Agreement

13h

Séance de travail Growing Regional Manufacturing

Participants :
Gouverneurs, premiers ministres, lieutenant-gouverneurs, participants des États et provinces

Discussion des gouverneurs, premier ministre, représentants et chefs d’entreprises sur les investissements étrangers dans les industries américaines et canadiennes animée par le modérateur

14h30

Séance de travail Charting A Shared Future for Our Region

Participants :
Gouverneurs, premiers ministres, lieutenant-gouverneurs, participants des États et provinces, commanditaires platine et or

Début de la table ronde

15h30

Fin des discussions

Prise de photographie officielle

16h

Séance de travail des chefs de délégation

Participants :
Gouverneurs, premiers ministres, lieutenant-gouverneurs, participants des États et provinces

Discussions sur les initiatives de développement économique

17h

Fin de la séance de travail

19h

Dîner

Participants :
Gouverneurs, premiers ministres, lieutenant-gouverneurs, chef de délégations des États et provinces, épouses et autres invités

Le samedi 26 avril 2014

8h30

Petit déjeuner de travail des chefs de délégation

Participants :
Gouverneurs, premiers ministres, lieutenant-gouverneurs, chef de délégations des États et provinces et délégations d’accompagnement

Discussions sur le Comité de travail « Espèces aquatiques envahissantes »

Discussion de l’entente d’aide mutuelle pour lutter contre les menaces posées par les espèces aquatiques envahissantes dans le bassin des Grands Lacs et du fleuve Saint-Laurent

8h50

Présentation du Water Monitoring Group par le directeur exécutif de la Commission des Grands Lacs, monsieur Tim Ede, et le directeur de projets, monsieur Paul Seelbach

9h10

Rapport sur les activités du CGGL en gestion de l’eau

9h35

Présentation du Great Lakes Protection Fund

10h45

Conférence de presse des chefs de délégations

FIN DE LA MISSION

-30-

Retour à la liste