Minister St-Pierre welcomes the release of Sister Gilberte Bussière

QUÉBEC CITY, June 1, 2014 - Minister of International Relations and La Francophonie Christine St-Pierre expressed great satisfaction on behalf of the Government of Québec over the release Saturday night of Sister Gilberte Bussière, originally from Asbestos, and two Italian priests.

The nun and two priests were abducted from the village of Tchéré, Cameroon, on April 5. The event provoked outrage in many countries. According to information currently available to the Congrégation de Notre-Dame, Sister Gilberte has been taken to Yaounde where she will be met by Sister Thelma Renaud, leader of the Notre-Dame-des-Apôtres (Cameroon) Region of the Congrégation de Notre-Dame.

“I was overjoyed this morning to learn of Sister Gilberte Bussière’s release, especially since I have been told that she is in good health. I plan to speak with her as soon as possible, but have already been in touch with congregation officials who confirmed Ms. Bussière’s state of health. My thoughts are also with her family, colleagues and all those close to her. I truly hope that they will be able to overcome this painful experience," said Minister St-Pierre.

-30-

Back to list

La ministre St-Pierre se réjouit de la libération de soeur Gilberte Bussière

QUÉBEC, 1er juin 2014 - La ministre des Relations internationales et de la Francophonie, Christine St-Pierre, au nom du gouvernement du Québec, s'est dite très heureuse de la remise en liberté, dans la nuit de samedi à dimanche, de la religieuse d'origine d'Asbestos, soeur Gilberte Bussière ainsi que des deux prêtres italiens.

Les trois religieux ont été enlevés dans la nuit du 4 au 5 avril dernier à Tchéré, au Cameroun, ce qui avait soulevé l'indignation dans de nombreux pays. Selon les renseignements dont la Congrégation de Notre-Dame dispose en ce moment, soeur Gilberte a été emmenée à Yaoundé où elle sera accueillie par soeur Thelma Reanud, leader de la région Notre-Dame-des-Apôtres (Cameroun) de la Congrégation de Notre-Dame.

« C'est avec une immense joie que j'ai appris ce matin la libération de Sœur Gilberte Bussière, d'autant plus, qu'elle est en bonne santé me dit-on. Je m'entretiendrai avec elle dans les plus brefs délais, mais j'ai déjà eu un premier contact avec des responsables de la Congrégation qui m'ont confirmé l'état de santé de Mme Bussière. Mes pensées vont aussi à sa famille, à ses collègues et à ses proches qui, je l'espère de tout cœur, parviendront à surmonter cette douloureuse expérience » a souligné Mme St-Pierre.

-30-

Retour à la liste