Ministers St-Pierre and David congratulate the four Québec finalists for the 2014 Prix des cinq continents de la Francophonie

QUÉBEC CITY, July 7, 2014 – The Minister of International Relations and La Francophonie, Christine St-Pierre, and the Minister of Culture and Communications and Minister Responsible for the Protection and Promotion of the French Language, Hélène David, congratulate the four Québec authors who are among the ten finalists for the Prix des cinq continents de la Francophonie.

“The presence of a strong Québec contingent in the running for this prestigious distinction awarded by the International Organization of La Francophonie demonstrates both the importance of Québec’s contribution to the diversity of the Francophone space and Québec’s literary excellence. I extend my warmest congratulations to each of the Québec authors who are finalists for this prize,” said Minister St-Pierre.

“It is with pride that I wish to congratulate the four Québec finalists being considered for this great honour. Your talent, creativity and daring have put Québec and its culture in the spotlight throughout La Francophonie,” added Minister David.

The works of Jonathan Gaudet (La dérive des jours, Éditions Hurtubise), Kim Thuy (Mãn, Éditions Libre expression), Larry Tremblay (L’Orangeraie, Éditions Alto) and Eza Paventin (Les Souliers de Mandela, Éditions Québec Amérique) were selected from the 103 novels submitted for this 13th edition of the Prix des cinq continents de la Francophonie.

The prize was created in 2001 to highlight literary talent that reflects the expression of cultural and editorial diversity in the French language on five continents and to promote these exceptional writers on the international literary scene.

The recipient will be chosen in September in Paris by an international jury headed by author Jean-Marie Gustave Le Clézio. The prize will be officially awarded in November in Dakar, Senegal, during the 15th Francophonie Summit.

The 2011 Prix des cinq continents de la Francophonie was awarded to Quebecer Jocelyne Saucier for her novel Il pleuvait des oiseaux (Éditions XYZ).

For the complete list of finalists and more information about the prize: www.francophonie.org (in French).

-30-

Source :
Florent Tanlet
Press Attachée
Office of the Minister of International Relations and La Francophonie
418 649-2319

Information :
Philippe Hébert
Communications Counsellor
Direction des communications et affaires publiques
Ministère des Relations internationales, de la Francophonie et du Commerce extérieur
418 649-2400, ext. 56009

Back to list

Les ministres St-Pierre et David félicitent les quatre finalistes québécois au Prix des cinq continents de la Francophonie 2014

QUÉBEC, le 7 juillet 2014 - La ministre des Relations internationales et de la Francophonie, Christine St-Pierre, et la ministre de la Culture et des Communications et ministre responsable de la Protection et de la Promotion de la langue française, Hélène David, félicitent les quatre auteurs québécois qui sont au nombre des 10 finalistes au Prix des cinq continents de la Francophonie.

« La présence d’un fort contingent québécois en lice pour cette prestigieuse distinction remise par l’Organisation internationale de la Francophonie témoigne, à la fois, de l’importance de la contribution du Québec à la diversité de l’espace francophone et de son excellence en matière littéraire. Je tiens à féliciter chaleureusement chacun des auteurs québécois finalistes à ce prix », a déclaré la ministre St-Pierre.

« C’est avec fierté que je tiens à féliciter les quatre finalistes québécois en lice pour ce prix de grande distinction. Votre talent, votre créativité et votre audace permettent de faire briller le Québec et sa culture dans toute la francophonie », a ajouté la ministre David.

Ainsi, les œuvres de Jonathan Gaudet (La dérive des jours, aux éditions Hurtubise), Kim Thuy (Mãn, aux éditions Libre expression), Larry Tremblay (L’Orangeraie, aux éditions Alto) et Eza Paventin (Les Souliers de Mandela, aux éditions Québec Amérique) ont été sélectionnées parmi 103 romans soumis à l’occasion de cette 13e édition du Prix des cinq continents de la Francophonie.

Créé en 2001, ce prix permet de mettre en lumière des talents littéraires reflétant l’expression de la diversité culturelle et éditoriale en langue française sur les cinq continents et de les promouvoir sur la scène littéraire internationale.

Le lauréat sera désigné en septembre à Paris par un jury international présidé par l’écrivain Jean-Marie Gustave Le Clézio. Le prix sera remis officiellement en novembre à Dakar, au Sénégal, en marge du XVe Sommet de la Francophonie.

Mentionnons que le Prix des cinq continents de la Francophonie 2011 avait été attribué à l’auteure québécoise Jocelyne Saucier pour son roman Il pleuvait des oiseaux (éditions XYZ).

Pour la liste complète des finalistes et plus d’information sur le Prix : www.francophonie.org.

Source
Florent Tanlet
Attaché de presse
Cabinet de la ministre des Relations internationales et de la Francophonie
Téléphone : 418 649-2319

Philip Proulx
Attaché de presse
Cabinet de la ministre de la Culture et des Communications et ministre responsable de la Protection et de la Promotion de la langue française
Téléphone : 418 380-2310

Information
Philippe Hébert
Conseiller en communication
Ministère des Relations internationales et de la Francophonie
Téléphone : 418 649-2400, poste 56009

Anne-Sophie Lacroix
Responsable des relations avec les médias
Ministère de la Culture et des Communications
Téléphone : 418 380-2363, poste 7239


Retour à la liste