Québec government awards nearly $4.4M in grants to Québec international cooperation agencies

Québec City, July 14, 2014 – The Minister of International Relations and La Francophonie, Christine St-Pierre, has announced the renewal of grants totalling nearly $4.4M for carrying out Québec’s international solidarity initiatives. “International solidarity is one of the Québec government’s priorities for action abroad. Tomorrow’s world is in the hands of these young people who dare to be altruistic. I welcome the commitment of young Quebecers to become a driving force for change and action in order to build a more just and prosperous world,” said the minister.

Québec Without Borders (QWB)

More than $1.2M from the QWB program is going to 12 Québec international cooperation organizations. Among other things, the Québec government’s contribution will provide roughly 150 young people aged 18 to 35 with a stimulating international solidarity experience in 11 countries in French-speaking Africa, Latin America and the Caribbean. The young people will participate in various initiatives implemented by local organizations, particularly in agriculture, health, the environment, and women’s and children’s rights.

The QWB will celebrate its 20th anniversary this year. Since the program’s inception in 1995, some 6,400 young Quebecers and 30 member organizations of the AQOCI (Québec Association of International Cooperation Organizations) have had an opportunity to carry out internships in 30 countries.

Québec International Development Program (PQDI)

Close to $2M from the PQDI will also be allocated to 12 Québec international cooperation organizations for implementing 14 development projects that will be conducted in partnership with communities in the countries concerned in Latin America, French-speaking Africa and the Caribbean. In all, nearly 15,000 people will benefit directly from the projects, in addition to approximately one hundred social and community organizations in 10 developing countries.

Projects in French-speaking Africa are primarily aimed at promoting the socio-economic involvement of women and young people to increase the empowerment of communities with a focus on sustainable development.

To date, the Québec government has supported 589 projects and 76 Québec international cooperation agencies in more than 40 countries through the PQDI.

International Cooperation Education Support Program (PAME-OCI)

For the three-year period from 2014-2017, almost $1.2M from the PAME-OCI is being allotted to 13 international cooperation agencies located in various regions of Québec to support them in achieving their mission of educating the Québec public about international development issues.

Activities as varied as conferences, workshops, training, gatherings and collective creations are made possible through the financial support granted to international cooperation agencies.

“Quebec is fortunate to be able to rely on a strong network of partners, including the Québec Association of International Cooperation Organizations. We must applaud their contribution to Québec’s international solidarity effort and I thank them for it. Young Quebecers are of vital importance to our government and helping them carry out internships abroad is a powerful personal and professional tool that will serve them well throughout their entire lives,” concluded Minister St-Pierre.

-30-

Source :
Florent Tanlet
Press Attachée
Office of the Minister of International Relations and La Francophonie
418 649-2319

Information :
Philippe Hébert
Communications Counsellor
Direction des communications et affaires publiques
Ministère des Relations internationales, de la Francophonie et du Commerce extérieur
418 649-2400, ext. 56009

Back to list

Le gouvernement du Québec accorde des subventions totalisant près de 4,4 M$ à des organismes de coopération internationale du Québec

Québec, le 14 juillet 2014 - La ministre des Relations internationales et de la Francophonie, Mme Christine St-Pierre, annonce la reconduction de subventions totalisant près de 4,4 M$ pour la réalisation de l’action de solidarité internationale du Québec.

« La solidarité internationale est l'une des priorités d'action du gouvernement du Québec à l'étranger. Alors que le monde de demain est entre les mains de ces jeunes qui osent faire preuve d’altruisme, je salue l’engagement de la jeunesse québécoise à devenir une force vive de changement et d'action pour un monde plus juste et plus prospère », a déclaré la ministre.

Québec sans frontières (QSF)

Un montant de près de 1,2 M$, provenant du programme QSF est accordé à 12 organismes québécois de coopération internationale. La contribution du gouvernement du Québec permettra entre autres à près de 150 jeunes de 18 à 35 ans de vivre une expérience stimulante de solidarité internationale dans 11 pays d’Afrique francophone, d’Amérique latine et des Antilles. Ces jeunes contribueront à diverses initiatives mises en œuvre par des organisations locales, notamment dans les domaines de l’agriculture, de la santé, de l’environnement, ainsi que les droits des femmes et des enfants.

Soulignons que QSF célèbrera cette année son 20e anniversaire. Depuis la création du programme en 1995, près de 6 400 jeunes Québécois et une trentaine d’organismes membres de l’AQOCI ont eu la chance de réaliser des stages dans une trentaine de pays.

Programme québécois de développement international (PQDI)

Un montant de près de 2 M$ provenant du PQDI est également versé à 12 organismes québécois de coopération internationale pour la réalisation de 14 projets de développement. Ceux-ci seront menés en partenariat avec les communautés des pays visés en Amérique latine, en Afrique francophone et dans les Antilles. Au total, ce sont donc près de 15 000 personnes qui bénéficieront directement de ces projets, en plus d’une centaine d’organisations sociales et communautaires dans 10 pays en développement.

Notons que les projets de l’Afrique francophone visent notamment à favoriser l’implication socioéconomique des femmes et des jeunes en vue d’accroître l’autonomisation des communautés dans un esprit de développement durable.

À ce jour, le gouvernement du Québec a appuyé 589 projets et 76 organismes québécois de coopération internationale dans plus de 40 pays par le biais du PQDI.

Programme d’appui à la mission d’éducation des organismes de coopération internationale (PAME-OCI)

Un montant de près de 1,2 M$ pour le triennat 2014-2017 du PAME-OCI est accordé à 13 organismes de coopération internationale situés dans diverses régions du Québec afin de les soutenir dans la réalisation de leur mission d’éducation du public québécois aux enjeux du développement international.

Des activités aussi variées que des conférences, ateliers, formations, rassemblements et des créations collectives sont rendues possibles grâce à ce soutien financier attribué aux organismes de coopération internationale.

« Le Québec a la chance de pouvoir s’appuyer sur un solide réseau de partenaires dont l’Association québécoise des organismes de coopération internationale. Il faut saluer leur contribution à l’effort du Québec en solidarité internationale et je les en remercie. La jeunesse québécoise est d’une importance capitale pour notre gouvernement et les aider à effectuer des stages à l’étranger est un puissant outil, personnel et professionnel, qui leur servira toute leur vie », a conclu la ministre St-Pierre.

Source
Florent Tanlet
Attaché de presse
Cabinet de la ministre des Relations internationales et de la Francophonie
Téléphone : 418 649-2319

Information
Julianne Bossé
Conseillère en communication
Ministère des Relations internationales et de la Francophonie
Téléphone : 418 649-2400, poste 57056


Retour à la liste