Premier promotes Plan Nord and Maritime Strategy in New York City

Québec City, September 23, 2014 - Premier Philippe Couillard ended a two-day mission to New York City today by presenting the Government of Québec’s main priorities, including the Plan Nord and the Maritime Strategy, at a series of high-level activities and economic meetings.

Mr. Couillard took the podium as guest of honour at a luncheon conference organized by the Foreign Policy Association (FPA). He emphasized the Québec government’s commitment to using Québec’s strengths to ensure prosperous and sustainable economic development. The Premier spoke before a full house composed of FPA members and representatives of the New York City financial and economic communities. He presented the broad outlines of the Plan Nord and the Maritime Strategy and highlighted the business potential of these major projects.

“The development of the immense potential of northern Québec gives foreign companies and the international community an opportunity to participate in a unique project that will set new standards for economic, social and environmental development,” said the Premier when referring to the Plan Nord. “The Maritime Strategy will enable Québec to become one of the major hubs of transatlantic trade. This project is the latest in a series of competitive advantages that make Québec a key economic partner for taking advantage of the many business opportunities that are emerging on the world stage,” continued Mr. Couillard.

In terms of energy, Mr. Couillard reminded the audience that Québec is the 4th largest producer of hydroelectricity in the world and that this renewable, low carbon energy source can help our American partners to cope with the energy challenges confronting them.

Mr. Couillard also took advantage of the last day of his mission to show his support for some one dozen Québec agri-food exporters that were participating in a promotional activity organized by the Québec Government Office in New York to help them penetrate the American market. Lastly, Mr. Couillard participated in a series of meetings with economic and financial movers and shakers as well as with the editorial boards of Bloomberg and the Wall Street Journal.

 

Source
Harold Fortin
Spokesman for the Premier
Office of the Premier of Québec
418 643-5321

Information
Guillaume Sarra-Bournet
Communications Counsellor
Direction des communications et affaires publiques
Ministère des Relations internationales et de la Francophonie
Téléphone : 418 649-2400 poste 57277

Back to the home page

Le premier ministre fait la promotion du Plan Nord et de la Stratégie maritime à New York

Québec, le 23 septembre 2014 - Le premier ministre, Philippe Couillard, a conclu aujourd’hui une mission de deux jours à New York en présentant les grandes priorités du gouvernement du Québec dont le Plan Nord et la Stratégie maritime dans le cadre d’activités et de rencontres économiques de haut niveau.

M. Couillard pris la parole en tant qu’invité d’honneur lors d’un déjeuner-conférence de la Foreign Policy Association (FPA), où il a mis de l’avant la volonté du gouvernement québécois de mettre à profit les atouts du Québec pour assurer un développement économique durable et prospère. Devant une salle comble composée de membres de la FPA ainsi que de représentants des milieux de la finance et de l'économie new-yorkaise, le premier ministre a présenté les grandes lignes des projets du Plan Nord et de la Stratégie maritime en soulignant le potentiel d’affaires que représentent ces chantiers.

« Le développement de l’immense potentiel du Nord du Québec offre aux entreprises étrangères et à la communauté internationale la possibilité de participer à un projet inédit qui fera figure de modèle en matière de développement économique, social et environnemental », a indiqué le premier ministre au sujet du Plan Nord. « Quant à la Stratégie maritime, elle permettra au Québec de devenir une des grandes plaques tournantes du commerce transatlantique. Ce projet s’ajoute à une série d’avantages concurrentiels qui font du Québec un partenaire économique de premier plan pour saisir les multiples occasions d’affaires qui se dessinent sur la scène mondiale » a poursuivi M. Couillard.

Sur le plan énergétique, M. Couillard a tenu à rappeler que le Québec est le 4e plus important producteur d’hydroélectricité au monde et que cette énergie renouvelable et faible en carbone peut aider nos partenaires américains à faire face aux défis énergétiques auxquels ils sont confrontés.

Cette dernière journée de mission a également été l’occasion pour M. Couillard d’appuyer une douzaine d’exportateurs québécois du secteur de l’agroalimentaire qui participent à une activité de promotion organisée par la Délégation générale du Québec à New York dans le but de percer le marché américain. Enfin, M. Couillard a pris part à différentes rencontres économiques et financières ainsi qu’à des tables éditoriales de Bloomberg et du Wall Street Journal.

 

Source
Harold Fortin
Porte-parole du premier ministre
Cabinet du premier ministre du Québec
Téléphone : 418 643-5321

Information
Guillaume Sarra-Bournet
Conseiller en communication
Direction des communications et affaires publiques
Ministère des Relations internationales et de la Francophonie
Téléphone : 418 649-2400 poste 57277


Retour à la liste