Québec joins Carbon Pricing Leadership Coalition

Rome, May 26, 2015 - The Premier of Québec, Philippe Couillard, welcomes Québec’s membership in the Carbon Pricing Leadership Coalition (CPLC). The CPLC is an initiative of the World Bank that brings together leaders from government, business and civil society with the goal of implementing effective carbon pricing policies.

“Québec firmly believes that fixing a price for carbon is one of the most effective solutions for combating climate change. The CPLC is an innovative platform that enables the public and private sectors to work together to set up carbon pricing systems in all the world’s economies. Québec is proud to be associated with influential allies and to share its experience in designing and establishing a carbon market,” said Premier Couillard.

The CPLC was announced by the President of the World Bank, Jim Jong Kim, in September 2014 on the eve of the Climate Summit organized by the Secretary-General of the United Nations, and was officially launched the following month.

As a partner government of the CPLC, Québec, which implemented its cap and trade system for greenhouse gases in 2013, is committed to influencing the global agenda by sharing its experience.

The Government of Québec is actively campaigning to ensure that subnational carbon markets and their contribution to the global effort to reduce GHG emissions be taken into account during the work of the 21st Conference of the Parties (COP-21) at the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC) in December 2015 in preparation for the upcoming international climate agreement.


Source :
Harold Fortin
Spokesperson to the Premier
Office of the Premier of Québec
Telephone : 418 643-5321

Information :
Julianne Bossé
Communication Counsellor
Ministère des Relations internationales et de la Francophonie
Telephone: 418-649-2400, ext. 57056



Back to the list

Le Québec se joint à la Coalition pour le leadership en matière de tarification du carbone

Rome, le 26 mai 2015 - Le premier ministre du Québec, Philippe Couillard, se réjouit de l’adhésion du Québec à la Coalition pour le leadership en matière de tarification du carbone (Carbon Pricing Leadership Coalition, ci-après CPLC). Il s’agit d’une initiative de la Banque mondiale qui vise à faire le lien entre des dirigeants gouvernementaux et du milieu des affaires et la société civile avec l’objectif de mettre en place des politiques efficaces en matière de tarification du carbone.

« Le Québec croit fermement que fixer un prix sur le carbone est l’une des solutions les plus efficaces dans la lutte contre les changements climatiques. La CPLC est une plateforme novatrice qui amène les secteurs public et privé à travailler ensemble pour implanter des systèmes de tarification du carbone dans l’ensemble des économies mondiales. Le Québec est fier de s’associer à des alliés influents et de partager ses expériences dans la conception et la mise sur pied d’un marché du carbone » a déclaré le premier ministre.

La CPLC a été annoncée par le président de la Banque mondiale, Jim Jong Kim, en septembre 2014 à la veille du Sommet sur le climat organisé par le Secrétaire général des Nations Unies, et officiellement lancée au mois d’octobre suivant.

En tant que partenaire gouvernemental de la CPLC, le Québec, qui a mis en œuvre son système de plafonnement et d'échange de droits d'émission de gaz à effet de serre dès 2013, s’engage à influencer l’agenda mondial en partageant ses expériences.

Soulignons que le Gouvernement du Québec milite activement afin que les marchés du carbone infranationaux et leur contribution à l’effort global de réduction des émissions de GES soient pris en compte lors des travaux de la 21e Conférence des Parties (CdP-21) à la Convention-cadre des Nations Unies sur les changements climatiques (CCNUCC), en décembre 2015, en vue du prochain accord international sur le climat.


Source :
Harold Fortin
Porte-parole du premier ministre
Cabinet du premier ministre du Québec
Téléphone : 418 643-5321

Information :
Julianne Bossé
Conseillère en communication
Ministère des Relations internationales et de la Francophonie
Téléphone : 418 649-2400, poste 57056



Retour à la liste