Entry into force of the Canada-European Union Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement

Québec: Europe – North America trade hub

Québec City, September 21, 2017 – The Québec government welcomes today’s entry into force of nearly all the provisions contained in the Canada-European Union Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement (CETA). This historic agreement will provide privileged access to a market of 500 million consumers and result in substantial economic benefits for Québec. It is a major diplomatic, political and economic gain for Québec, which played a decisive role in the Canada-EU negotiations.

Québec’s economy is highly dependent on access to external markets. Indeed, interprovincial and international exports account for 46.7% of Québec’s GDP. According to the joint study conducted by Canada and the EU in 2008, CETA will lead to economic benefits of approximately 2.2 billion dollars annually in terms of GDP and the creation of 16,000 new jobs in Québec.

Quotes:

« As part of a strategy aimed at market diversification, CETA will benefit both Québec’s multinationals and SMEs by providing a framework favourable to increasing their exports to Europe, our second largest trading partner after the United States, by giving them a major competitive edge. CETA’s implementation will certainly encourage investments and foster numerous possibilities for partnerships and business opportunities, thereby resulting in substantial economic benefits for Québec. A new era has therefore begun in our trade relations with European Union member countries. »

Dominique Anglade, Minister of Economy, Science and Innovation and Minister responsible for the Digital Strategy

« CETA makes Canada one of the only countries in the world to have a free-trade agreement with the planet’s two largest economic blocs: the European and American markets. The European Union is the leading global economy and represents an essential market for Québec. This new agreement will unquestionably enable us not only to maintain our longstanding privileged relations with Europe, but also to consolidate and reinforce them. »

Christine St-Pierre, Minister of International Relations and La Francophonie

« Québec will enjoy major gains, especially with respect to many processed food products, such as maple syrup and berries. Some other sectors will need our assistance. The ones that come to mind are those affected by the arrival of new products in our grocery stores, including cheese products. We also need to help our businesses tap into the countless opportunities that must be seized to create wealth and jobs right here in Québec. »

Laurent Lessard, Minister of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food

« CETA is the most important trade agreement negotiated by Canada since 1994. The Québec government was one of its main promoters and, for the first time in its history, fully participated in negotiating an international trade agreement that will have significant benefits for all Quebecers and all other Canadians. »

Jean-Marc Fournier, Minister responsible for Canadian Relations and the Canadian Francophonie and Government House Leader

Quick facts:

  • As a reminder, CETA:
    • eliminates Canadian and European customs tariffs on almost all industrial goods: for example, 98% of customs duties applicable to Canadian products exported to Europe have been eliminated, including 99% with respect to industrial products;
    • eliminates customs tariffs on nearly 94% of agricultural tariff lines upon entry into force;
    • offers better access to public procurement in the EU, which is the world’s largest procurement market, estimated at 3,300 billion Canadian dollars annually;
    • allows Québec suppliers to bid on public contracts of EU local and regional governments, (which is a first) and enables them to participate in calls for tender in the public services sector;
    • streamlines the certification process for a multitude of products by authorizing Québec laboratories to recognize the compliance of products with European standards;
    • facilitates the movement of investors and professionals between Canada and the EU;
    • institutes a cooperation mechanism aimed at reducing the regulatory differences between Canada and the EU;
    • will ultimately accelerate the recognition of professional qualifications and increase the acceptance rate for applications in regulated professions and trades.
  • Some provisions focusing on investment, financial services, intellectual property and transparency of administrative measures are not yet in force. CETA will be fully implemented once the parliaments of the member states have all ratified it in accordance with their respective national constitutional obligations.
  • It should be noted that in 2016, Québec’s export of goods to the 28 countries forming the EU totalled $9.9 billion.
  • To promote CETA and encourage Québec companies to prepare for it, the Ministère de l’Économie, de la Science et de l’Innovation (MESI), through its Export Québec unit, has organized and contributed to conducting several workshops and seminars across Québec since March. MESI has also posted a technical document online indicating the steps to be followed in the short term. Other activities are expected during the fall, in collaboration with regional organizations.
  • Some ten trade missions are planned over the coming months. Meetings will also be arranged with Québec companies wishing to capture the European market or consolidate their activities there and host potential buyers.

Associated link:

To receive press releases from the Ministère de l’Économie, de la Science et de l’Innovation in real time, sign up for the appropriate RSS at www.economie.gouv.qc.ca/rss.

MESI on social media:

Twitter : twitter.com/economie_quebec
Facebook : www.facebook.com/EconomieQc
LinkedIn : www.linkedin.com/company/362721?trk=tyah&trkInfo=tarId:1415637203135,tas:Minist%C3%A8re%20de%20l’%C3%89conomie,idx:1-1-1
YouTube : www.youtube.com/user/MDEIEQuebec

Source :
Gabrielle Tellier
Press Officer
Office of the Minister of Economy, Science and Innovation and Minister responsible for the Digital Strategy
418 691-5650

Ann-Clara Vaillancourt
Press Officer
Office of the Minister of International Relations and La Francophonie and Minister responsible for the Laurentides region
418 649-2319

Mathieu Gaudreault
Press Officer
Office of the Minister of Transport, Sustainable Mobility and Transport Electrification, Minister of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food and Minister responsible for the Centre-du-Québec region
418 643-7295

Karla Duval
Press Officer
Office of the Minister responsible for Canadian Relations and the Canadian Francophonie and Government House Leader
418 646-5950

Information :
Jean-Pierre D’Auteuil
Media Relations Coordinator
Communications Branch
Ministère de l’Économie, de la Science et de l’Innovation
418 691-5698, poste 4868
Cell. : 418 559-0710

Back to list

Entrée en vigueur de l’Accord économique et commercial global entre le Canada et l’Union européenne

Le Québec, plaque tournante du commerce entre l’Europe et l’Amérique du Nord

Québec, le 21 septembre 2017 – Le gouvernement du Québec se réjouit de l’entrée en vigueur aujourd’hui de la quasi-totalité des dispositions de l’Accord économique et commercial global (AECG) entre le Canada et l’Union européenne (UE). Cet accord historique offrira un accès privilégié à un marché de 500 millions de consommateurs, tout en entraînant des retombées économiques substantielles pour le Québec. Il s’agit d’un gain diplomatique, politique et économique majeur pour le Québec, qui a joué un rôle déterminant dans cette négociation entre le Canada et l’UE.

L’économie du Québec dépend fortement de l’accès aux marchés extérieurs. En effet, les exportations interprovinciales et internationales représentent 46,7 % du PIB québécois. À cet égard, selon l’étude conjointe réalisée par le Canada et l’UE en 2008, l’AECG entraînera des retombées économiques d’environ 2,2 milliards de dollars par année au chapitre du PIB et la création de 16 000 nouveaux emplois au Québec.

Citations :

« Faisant partie d’une stratégie visant la diversification des marchés, l’AECG bénéficiera à la fois aux multinationales et aux PME québécoises en fournissant un cadre propice à l’accroissement de leurs exportations en Europe, notre deuxième partenaire économique après les États Unis, et en leur offrant un avantage concurrentiel important. Assurément, la mise en place de l’AECG encouragera les investissements et favorisera de nombreuses possibilités de partenariats et d’occasions d’affaires, entraînant ainsi des retombées économiques substantielles pour le Québec. Une nouvelle époque s’amorce donc dans nos relations commerciales avec les pays membres de l’Union européenne. »

Dominique Anglade, ministre de l’Économie, de la Science et de l’Innovation et ministre responsable de la Stratégie numérique

« L’AECG fait du Canada l’un des seuls pays au monde à avoir un accord de libre échange avec les deux plus grands ensembles économiques de la planète, c’est-à-dire les marchés européen et américain. Première économie mondiale, l’Union européenne représente un marché incontournable pour le Québec. Sans conteste, ce nouvel accord nous permettra non seulement de maintenir notre relation privilégiée de longue date avec l’Europe, mais également de la consolider et de la renforcer. »

Christine St Pierre, ministre des Relations internationales et de la Francophonie

« Le Québec pourra profiter de gains importants, notamment en ce qui concerne de nombreux produits alimentaires transformés, tels que le sirop d’érable et les petits fruits. Certains autres secteurs auront besoin d’accompagnement de notre part. Pensons entre autres à ceux touchés par l’arrivée de nouveaux produits dans nos épiceries, dont les produits fromagers. Nous devons également aider nos entreprises à saisir les innombrables possibilités qui doivent être exploitées au profit de la création de richesse et d’emplois ici même, au Québec. »

Laurent Lessard, ministre de l’Agriculture, des Pêcheries et de l’Alimentation

« L’AECG constitue l’accord de libre-échange le plus important négocié par le Canada depuis 1994. Le gouvernement du Québec en a été l’un des principaux promoteurs et, pour la première fois de son histoire, il a participé pleinement aux négociations d’un accord de commerce international qui aura des retombées significatives pour l’ensemble des Québécois et pour tous les autres Canadiens. »

Jean-Marc Fournier, ministre responsable des Relations canadiennes et de la Francophonie canadienne et leader parlementaire du gouvernement

Faits saillants :

  • Rappelons que l’AECG :
    • élimine les tarifs douaniers canadiens et européens pour la quasi-totalité des biens industriels : à titre d’exemple, 98 % des droits de douane applicables aux produits canadiens exportés en Europe sont éliminés, dont 99 % en ce qui concerne les produits industriels;
    • élimine les tarifs douaniers sur près de 94 % des lignes tarifaires agricoles dès son entrée en vigueur;
    • offre un meilleur accès aux marchés publics de l’UE, qui est le marché d’approvisionnement le plus important du monde, évalué à 3 300 milliards de dollars canadiens par année;
    • permet aux fournisseurs du Québec de soumissionner à des contrats publics des gouvernements locaux et régionaux de l’UE, ce qui constitue une première, et leur donne la possibilité de participer à des appels d’offres dans le secteur des services publics;
    • simplifie le processus de certification d’une multitude de produits en autorisant des laboratoires québécois à reconnaître la conformité des produits aux normes européennes;
    • facilite la circulation des investisseurs et des professionnels entre le Canada et l’UE;
    • institue un mécanisme de coopération visant à atténuer les différences réglementaires entre le Canada et l’UE;
    • permettra ultimement d’accélérer la reconnaissance des qualifications professionnelles et d’augmenter le taux d’acceptation des demandes pour les professions et les métiers réglementés.
  • Certaines dispositions en matière d’investissement, de services financiers, de propriété intellectuelle et de transparence des mesures administratives ne sont pas encore en vigueur. L’AECG sera mis en œuvre entièrement lorsque les parlements des États membres l’auront tous ratifié conformément à leurs obligations constitutionnelles nationales respectives.
  • Soulignons qu’en 2016, les exportations de marchandises québécoises vers les 28 pays formant l’UE ont atteint 9,9 milliards de dollars.
  • Afin de promouvoir l’AECG et d’inciter les entreprises québécoises à s’y préparer, le ministère de l’Économie, de la Science et de l’Innovation (MESI), par le biais de son unité Export Québec, a organisé et collaboré à la réalisation de plusieurs ateliers et colloques à travers le Québec depuis mars dernier. Le MESI a également mis en ligne un document technique indiquant les étapes à suivre à court terme. D’autres activités sont à prévoir au cours de l’automne, en collaboration avec des organismes régionaux.
  • Au cours des prochains mois, une dizaine de missions commerciales sont prévues. Des rencontres seront également organisées avec les entreprises québécoises qui souhaitent conquérir le marché européen ou y consolider leurs activités et pour accueillir des acheteurs potentiels.

Lien connexe :

Pour recevoir en temps réel les communiqués de presse du ministère de l’Économie, de la Science et de l’Innovation, inscrivez-vous au fil RSS approprié au www.economie.gouv.qc.ca/rss.

MESI sur les réseaux sociaux :

Twitter : twitter.com/economie_quebec
Facebook : www.facebook.com/EconomieQc
LinkedIn : www.linkedin.com/company/362721?trk=tyah&trkInfo=tarId:1415637203135,tas:Minist%C3%A8re%20de%20l’%C3%89conomie,idx:1-1-1
YouTube : www.youtube.com/user/MDEIEQuebec

Source :
Gabrielle Tellier
Attachée de presse
Cabinet de la ministre de l’Économie, de la Science et de l’Innovation et ministre responsable de la Stratégie numérique
418 691-5650

Ann-Clara Vaillancourt
Attachée de presse
Cabinet de la ministre des Relations internationales et de la Francophonie et ministre responsable de la région des Laurentides
418 649-2319

Mathieu Gaudreault
Attaché de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Transports, de la Mobilité durable et de l’Électrification des transports, ministre de l’Agriculture, des Pêcheries et de l’Alimentation et ministre responsable de la région du Centre-du-Québec
418 643-7295

Karla Duval
Attachée de presse
Cabinet du ministre responsable des Relations canadiennes et de la Francophonie canadienne et leader parlementaire du gouvernement
418 646-5950

Information :
Jean-Pierre D’Auteuil
Responsable des relations médias
Direction des communications
Ministère de l’Économie, de la Science et de l’Innovation
418 691-5698, poste 4868
Cell. : 418 559-0710

Retour à la liste