International Symposium on Food Security and Nutrition

A new step towards closer collaboration between Québec and the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations

Québec City, September 27th 2017 – The Government of Québec and the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO) draw a positive assessment of the International Symposium "Food Security and Nutrition in the Age of Climate Change" and see a positive future for their collaboration. The Symposium took place at the Québec City Convention Center from September 24thto 27th and permitted, for the first time, to deepen the link between climate change and nutrition.

Minister of International Relations and La Francophonie, Christine St-Pierre at the International Symposium on Food Security and Nutrition in the Age of Climate Change.
Minister of International Relations and La Francophonie, Christine St-Pierre at the International Symposium on Food Security and Nutrition in the Age of Climate Change. Photo credit: Éric Labonté

This Symposium is held in a context where, after a steady decline over more than a decade, world hunger is on the rise again, as shown by the latest data from the UN report on the state of food security and nutrition in the world.

At the opening of the Sympsosium, a meeting between the Premier of Québec, Philippe Couillard, and the Deputy Director-General for Climate and Natural Resources, Maria Helena Semedo, laid the groundwork for a closer collaboration. Some of the announcements made during the Symposium included:

  • the creation of a community of practice, coordinated by the Québec Governement Office in Dakar, which will bring together six international cooperation agencies from Québec working in West Africa and the FAO representation in Senegal. This network is an innovative way to ensure closer dialogue and collaboration in the region, needs that have been expressed on numerous occasions by international cooperation agencies;
  • Québec's will to support Phase II of the FAO's "Integration of Agriculture into National Adaptation Plans" program in target Francophone developing countries to assist them in the implementation of their national climate change adaptation strategies.

During four days, various workshops and plenary sessions helped establish and define the key links between food security, nutrition and climate change. The discussions also helped identified concrete and multisectoral solutions to adapt agro-food systems to the effects of climate change and to mitigate greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions from these systems.

Speakers from diverse backgrounds and young people involved in these issues have highlighted certain issues specific to regions more vulnerable to the effects of climate change, including West Africa and the Far North. Examples of innovation at the service of food security shown during the Symposium included: innovative models of agricultural systems; women-led initiatives in West Africa to improve food systems; and greenhouse projects in northern communities to encourage the production of low-cost, fresh and local products. The discussions at the Colloquium also allowed the sharing of best practices around the world in order to foster ideas and improve our overall response to climate change.

The Minister of International Relations and La Francophonie, Christine St-Pierre, also took the opportunity to announce a financial support of $ 2.5 million for several Québec Government initiatives in the field of international solidarity for projects directly related to the themes of the Symposium.

Another signing was a Memorandum of Understanding between the FAO and Université Laval to promote the sharing of inter-institutional knowledge to improve food security and nutrition through the fight against climate change and ways to adapt to its evolution.

The main conclusions and solutions of the Symposium will be published in a publication of the FAO, produced in collaboration with the Government of Québec.

Quotes:

« Food security, nutrition and climate change are among the major challenges of our time. It is an honor for Québec to have obtained the collaboration of the FAO to organize this Symposium, which has enabled us to strengthen the international dialogue on these issues and to rethink our ways of responding to the challenges we will have to face in the coming decades. Québec is already recognized as a leader in the fight against climate change, and wants to take part more than ever in this global reflection on food security and nutrition. This Symposium is the starting point of new avenues of collaboration with the FAO and a lever to enrich our mutual action against climate change and ensure the food security of citizens of all horizons. »

Christine St-Pierre, Minister of International Relations and La Francophonie

« After a long period of decline, hunger is on the rise again in the world and climate change is amplifying the phenomenon by acting directly on the determinants of malnutrition. This Symposium has demonstrated that combating malnutrition and adapting to the impacts of climate change go hand in hand. Investments that guarantee resilient food systems in the face of climate challenges are now essential. It is our duty to bring this message to the 23rd United Nations Conference on Climate Change (COP 23) in Bonn in a few weeks »

Maria Helena Semedo, Deputy Director-General Climate & Natural Resources, Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO)

Highlights

  • The Symposium was announced following a meeting between the Premier of Québec, Philippe Couillard, and the Director-General of the FAO, José Graziano da Silva, at the 22nd Conference of the Parties to the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change in Morocco in November 2016.
  • Some 225 participants attended the Symposium. Among them, nearly 70 recognized speakers in their community spoke.
  • The Symposium was designed to include youth, women, farmers, and people of Aboriginal origin and to provide them a platform to exchange ideas and good practices, since they often are the first to be affected by effects of climate change.
  • The International Youth Offices of Québec (Les Offices jeunesse internationaux du Québec) have enabled 24 young international experts to participate in the Symposium.
  • Several eco-responsible initiatives have been put in place to organize the Symposium. For example, the badges were printed on handmade paper in which basil seeds were inserted, and particular attention was paid to food waste and the purchase of local products.

Related links:

www.mri.gouv.qc.ca/colloquesan.

www.fao.org/climate-change.

Sources :
Ann-Clara Vaillancourt
Press Officer
Office of the Minister of International Relations and Francophonie
418 649-2319

Tina Farmer
Communication Advisor
Office of the Deputy Director-General Climate & Natural Resources Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations
+39 06 570 56846
tina.farmer@fao.org

Information :
Claudine Bertrand
Communication Advisor
Office of the Minister of International Relations and Francophonie
418 649-2400, poste 57211

Back to list

Colloque international sur la sécurité alimentaire et la nutrition

Nouveau pas vers une collaboration renforcée entre le Québec et l’Organisation des Nations Unies pour l’alimentation et l’agriculture

Québec, le 27 septembre 2017 – Le Gouvernement du Québec et l’Organisation des Nations Unies pour l’alimentation et l’agriculture (FAO) dressent un bilan positif du Colloque international « Sécurité alimentaire et nutrition à l’heure des changements climatiques » et entrevoient l’avenir de leur collaboration avec beaucoup d’enthousiasme. Le Colloque s’est déroulé du 24 au 27 septembre au Centre des congrès de Québec et a permis, pour la première fois, d’approfondir le lien entre les changements climatiques et la nutrition.

la ministre des Relations internationales et de la Francophonie, Christine St-Pierre, au Colloque international sur la sécurité alimentaire et la nutrition à l’heure des changements climatiques
La ministre des Relations internationales et de la Francophonie, Christine St-Pierre, au Colloque international sur la sécurité alimentaire et la nutrition à l’heure des changements climatiques. Crédit photo : Éric Labonté

Ce colloque se tient dans un contexte où, après une régression constante durant plus d’une décennie, la faim dans le monde progresse à nouveau, comme le révèlent les dernières données du rapport des Nations Unies sur l’état de la sécurité alimentaire et de la nutrition dans le monde.

À l’ouverture du Colloque, un entretien entre le premier ministre du Québec, Philippe Couillard, et la directrice générale adjointe en charge du climat et des ressources naturelles de la FAO, Maria Helena Semedo, a permis de jeter les bases d’une collaboration plus engagée. Parmi les annonces faites pendant le Colloque, mentionnons :

  • la création d’une communauté de pratique, coordonnée par le Bureau du Québec à Dakar, qui réunira six organismes de coopération internationale québécois travaillant en Afrique de l’Ouest et la représentation de la FAO au Sénégal. Ce réseau est un moyen novateur de permettre une concertation et une collaboration plus étroite dans la région, un besoin qui a été exprimé à de nombreuses reprises par les organismes de coopération internationale;
  • la volonté du Québec d’appuyer la Phase II du programme « Intégration de l’agriculture dans les plans d’adaptation nationaux » de la FAO dans certains pays francophones en développement pour les aider dans la mise en œuvre de leurs stratégies nationales d’adaptation aux changements climatiques.

Pendant quatre jours, différents ateliers et séances plénières ont permis d’établir et de définir les liens déterminants entre la sécurité alimentaire, la nutrition et les changements climatiques. Les échanges ont également permis d’identifier des solutions concrètes et multisectorielles pour adapter les systèmes agroalimentaires aux effets des changements climatiques et atténuer les émissions de gaz à effet de serre (GES) de ces systèmes.

Des conférenciers issus d’horizons diversifiés et des jeunes engagés dans ces enjeux ont su mettre en lumière des problématiques propres à certaines régions plus vulnérables aux effets des changements climatiques, entre autres l’Afrique de l’Ouest et le Grand Nord. Des modèles novateurs de systèmes agricoles, des initiatives imaginées et menées par des femmes en Afrique de l’Ouest pour améliorer les systèmes alimentaires, des projets de serre dans des communautés nordiques pour favoriser la production de produits frais et locaux à faibles coûts, tant d’exemples d’innovation au service de la sécurité alimentaire. Les échanges tenus lors du Colloque ont par ailleurs permis le partage des meilleures pratiques partout dans le monde dans afin de favoriser les idées et d’améliorer notre réponse globale aux changements climatiques.

La ministre des Relations internationales et de la Francophonie, Christine St-Pierre, en a également profité pour annoncer un soutien gouvernemental de 2,5 millions de dollars pour plusieurs initiatives du Gouvernement du Québec en matière de solidarité internationale pour des projets directement liés à la thématique du colloque.

Par ailleurs, soulignons la signature d’un protocole d’accord entre la FAO et l’Université Laval afin de favoriser le partage interinstitutionnel de connaissances pour améliorer la sécurité alimentaire et la nutrition par la lutte contre les changements climatiques et l’adaptation à leur évolution.

Les principales conclusions et solutions du Colloque feront l’objet d’une publication de la FAO, réalisée en collaboration avec le Gouvernement du Québec.

Citations :

« La sécurité alimentaire, la nutrition et les changements climatiques font partie des grands enjeux de notre époque. C’est un honneur pour le Québec d’avoir obtenu la collaboration de la FAO pour organiser ce colloque qui nous a permis de renforcer le dialogue international sur ces questions et de repenser nos façons de faire pour mieux répondre aux défis auxquels nous devrons faire face dans les prochaines décennies. Le Québec est déjà reconnu comme un chef de file en matière de lutte contre les changements climatiques et souhaite prendre part plus que jamais à cette réflexion mondiale sur la sécurité alimentaire et la nutrition. Ce colloque est le point de départ de nouvelles avenues de collaboration avec la FAO et autant de leviers pour enrichir notre action mutuelle contre les changements climatiques et assurer la sécurité alimentaire des citoyens de tous les horizons »

Christine St Pierre, ministre des Relations internationales et de la Francophonie

« Après une longue période de recul, la faim progresse dans le monde et les changements climatiques amplifient le phénomène en agissant directement sur les éléments déterminants de la malnutrition. Ce colloque a démontré que la lutte contre la malnutrition et l’adaptation aux impacts des changements climatiques vont de pair. Des investissements garantissant des systèmes alimentaires résilients face aux défis climatiques sont dorénavant indispensables. Il est de notre devoir de porter ce message lors de la 23e Conférence des Nations Unies sur les changements climatiques (COP 23) qui se tiendra à Bonn dans quelques semaines. »

Maria Helena Semedo, directrice générale adjointe de la FAO en charge du climat et des ressources naturelles

Faits saillants :

  • La tenue du Colloque a été annoncée à la suite d’une rencontre entre le premier ministre Philippe Couillard et le directeur général de la FAO, José Graziano da Silva, lors de la 22e Conférence des Parties à la Convention-cadre des Nations Unies sur les changements climatiques au Maroc en novembre 2016.
  • Quelque 225 personnes ont participé au Colloque. Parmi eux, près de 70 conférenciers reconnus dans leur milieu ont pris la parole.
  • Le Colloque a été pensé afin d’inclure les jeunes, les femmes, les agriculteurs et les personnes d’origine autochtones et de leur offrir une tribune privilégiée pour les échanges d’idées et de bonnes pratiques, étant souvent les premiers touchés par les effets des changements climatiques.
  • Les Offices jeunesse internationaux du Québec ont permis à 24 jeunes experts internationaux de participer au Colloque.
  • Plusieurs initiatives écoresponsables ont été mises en place pour l’organisation du Colloque. Par exemple, les cocardes ont été imprimées sur un papier fait main dans lequel ont été insérées des graines de basilic, et une attention particulière a été accordée au gaspillage alimentaire et à l’achat de produits locaux.

Liens connexes :

www.mri.gouv.qc.ca/colloquesan.

www.fao.org/climate-change.

Sources :
Ann-Clara Vaillancourt
Attachée de presse
Cabinet de la ministre des Relations internationales et de la Francophonie et ministre responsable de la région des Laurentides
418 649-2319

Tina Farmer
Conseillère en communication
Bureau de la directrice générale adjointe de la FAO en charge du climat et des ressources naturelles
+39 06 570 56846
tina.farmer@fao.org

Information :
Claudine Bertrand
Conseillère en communication
Ministère des Relations internationales et de la Francophonie
418 649-2400, poste 57211

Retour à la liste