Francophone Africa

Africa occupies a land area of 30 millions km2 and has approximately 1.2 trillion habitants. It is divided into 54 independent states.


Africa has abundant natural and human resources. However, it remains one of the world's most disadvantaged regions. Approximately one-third of the world's people living in extreme poverty are in Sub-Saharan Africa.

A total of 31 African countries are members of the International Organization of La Francophonie (OIF). Of these 31 countries, 20 are on the UN's list of the least developed countries, which includes the least developed countries in socio-economic terms with the lowest human development indices. Due to their vulnerability, these countries receive special attention from the international community.

Francophone Africa is a priority area of solidarity for Québec since both regions are part of the international francophone community. In addition to contributing to francophone Africa via the OIF, the Ministère des Relations internationales et de la Francophonie du Québec (MRIF) devotes approximately 40 % of the combined budgets of its international solidarity programs to countries in francophone Africa.

Since its international solidarity programs were created in 1995, the MRIF has been involved in initiatives in 29 African countries, primarily in West Africa.

Since 1995

Québec International Development Program (PQDI) and Québec Without Borders (QWB):

  • $41.2 million in financial commitments
  • 3,083 Quebecers have completed internships in Africa
  • 204 Africans have completed reciprocal internships in Québec

The primary beneficiary countries are (PQDI and QWB combined):

  • Mali: $9.8 million
  • Burkina Faso: $7.6 million
  • Senegal: $6.5 million

List of projects

To view the list of projects completed or underway with financial support from the MRI:

Last update: 2017-04-20 9:34:00 AM

Afrique francophone

L'Afrique couvre 30 millions de km2 et compte environ 1,2 milliards d'habitants. Elle est divisée en 54 États indépendants.


L'Afrique possède d'importantes ressources naturelles et humaines. Cependant, elle demeure l'une des régions les plus défavorisées du monde. Environ le tiers de la population mondiale vivant dans l'extrême pauvreté habite en Afrique subsaharienne.

Trente et un États africains sont membres de l'Organisation internationale de la Francophonie (OIF). Parmi eux, 20 figurent sur la liste des pays les moins avancés des Nations Unies. Cette liste regroupe les pays les moins développés socioéconomiquement et qui présentent les indices de développement humain (IDH) les plus faibles. En raison de leur vulnérabilité, ces pays obtiennent une attention particulière de la part de la communauté internationale.

L'Afrique francophone constitue un espace de solidarité prioritaire pour le Québec compte tenu de leur appartenance commune à la communauté francophone internationale. En plus de sa contribution à cette région par l'entremise de l'Organisation internationale de la Francophonie (OIF), le MRIF consacre environ 40 % des budgets de ses programmes de solidarité internationale aux pays francophones africains.

Depuis la création de ses programmes de solidarité internationale en 1995, le MRIF est intervenu dans 29 pays d'Afrique, principalement en Afrique de l'Ouest.

Depuis 1995

Programme québécois de développement international (PQDI) et Québec sans frontières (QSF) :

  • 41,2 millions $ en engagements financiers
  • 3083 Québécoises et Québécois ont fait un stage en Afrique
  • 204 Africaines et Africains ont fait un stage de réciprocité au Québec

Les principaux pays bénéficiaires (PQDI et QSF combinés) :

  • Mali : 9,8 millions $
  • Burkina Faso : 7,6 millions $
  • Sénégal : 6,5 millions $

Liste des projets

Pour consulter la liste des projets en cours de réalisation ou qui ont déjà été réalisés avec l'appui financier du ministère des Relations internationales et de la Francophonie :

Dernière mise à jour : 2017-11-07 11:05:52