Haïti

On January 12, 2010, Haiti was hit by a devastating earthquake. In response to this tragedy, the Québec government provided $3 million in emergency aid on January 18 to five international cooperation agencies already carrying out humanitarian operations in Haiti:

Various government departments were involved in Québec’s response to the disaster. Major emergency efforts include the following:

  • The Ministère des l’Emploi et de la Solidarité sociale (MESS) set up an emergency financial assistance program (PAFU) to meet the temporary needs of people affected by the earthquake.
  • At the request of the Haitian Consulate General in Montréal, the Ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux (MSSS) made $580,000 worth of medical supplies and equipment available to Haiti.
  • The Ministère de l’Immigration et des Communautés culturelles (MICC) implemented a temporary humanitarian sponsorship program for Haiti to allow family members not covered by the regular family immigration program to come to Québec. According to an MICC estimate, some 5,000 Haitians will have been able to put down new roots in Québec by the end of the program.

Examples of efforts and results

  • 4,278 Canadian nationals, many of Haitian origin, were welcomed
  • Three multiservice aid centres were opened
  • 110 Haitians were granted tuition waivers

A Medium and Long-Term Commitment

Beyond emergency aid, the Québec government remains committed to Haitian reconstruction in the medium and long terms. Two major consultations have been held to identify ways in which Québec can play a decisive role in the process.

  • A consultation meeting on Haiti, chaired by the Minister of International Relations and Minister responsible for La Francophonie, was held on March 22, 2010. It brought together the leading Québec stakeholders involved in Haiti (international cooperation agencies, universities and colleges, municipalities, companies, representatives of the Haitian diaspora).
  • The Minister of International Relations and Minister responsible for La Francophonie carried out a mission to Haiti on April 30 and May 1, 2010, in order to observe the situation first-hand, take note of the work carried out by the five organizations benefiting from emergency financial assistance from Québec ($3 million), meet with Haitian political officials, particularly the President of the Republic, René Garcia Préval, identify needs of the Haitian government that could met through Québec expertise and provide support for the Reporters without Borders media centre.

Based on consultations in Haiti, with the diaspora and with Québec partners active in the Caribbean nation, Québec identified a series of efforts for deployment in Haiti, focusing on the following two areas :

  • sharing of expertise, particularly in the public sector
  • support for economic development

The Québec government has also maintained its long-standing commitment to Haitian civil society.

Québec initiatives under way in Haiti prior to January 12, 2010, have continued despite the earthquake. Activities deployed under the Haitian Governance Enhancement Project (PARGEP) have resumed and projects by international cooperation organizations continue to receive support under the Québec International Development Program (PQDI).

Québec efforts in Haiti include the following :

  • Three experts in physical rehabilitation were deployed to Haiti in 2011. With a budget of $90,000, the project provided support and training for local Haitian personnel. It was made possible by the Ministère des Relations internationales et de la Francophonie (MRIFCE) and the Ministère de l’Emploi et de la Solidarité sociale (MSSS), in partnership with Handicap International, a Québec-based civil society organization.
  • To reboot credit in Haiti, the MRIFCE has granted $1 million in assistance for the five-year period from 2010 to 2015, in collaboration with Développement international Desjardins (DID), the Haitian credit union network and Fédération Le Levier. The money goes toward an entrepreneurship fund for small and micro businesses in Haiti.
  • Based in Montréal, the Association des clubs d’entrepreneurs étudiants de la Francophonie (ACEE Francophonie) has joined with a Haitian partner, ETRE ayisien, to provide Haitian youth with support in the area of entrepreneurship development, through the creation of a national association of Haitian student entrepreneur clubs.
  • A call for proposals devoted to Haiti was launched in 2011, targeting municipalities in Québec and France interested in working with a Haitian partner to deploy a local development project. For 2012, a project involving the Conférence régional des élus de la Chaudière-Appalaches (CRE–CA), the Essonne Regional Council and the Fonds haïtien d’appui au dévelopment du Sud (FHADS) has been retained. Another call for proposals was launched in the spring of 2012.
  • The Secrétariat à l’adoption internationale (SAE) has been working with the Haitian government since 2012 on the creation of a legislative framework providing better protection of children’s basic rights, in compliance with international standards and the Hague Convention on Protection of Children.
  • A Québec government representative in Haiti, based in the Canadian embassy in Port-au-Prince, will soon be named. Among other duties, the representative will be responsible for developing economic and trade relations between Québec and Haiti.

At the same time, Québec will take advantage of its participation in major international forums, namely the Organisation internationale de la Francophonie (OIF), UNESCO and the Organization of American States, to confirm and expand its solidarity with Haiti in collaboration with other members of the global community. At the Francophone Summit in Montreux, Switzerland, held on October 23 and 24, 2010, Québec joined with the Haitian delegation to present a resolution in favour of Haitian rebuilding. Québec also supports initiatives such as the following :

  • Significant financial support is provided for IFADEM, a distance training initiative for teachers, deployed by the OIF and the Agence universitaire de la Francophonie (AUF), aligned with international efforts in favour of high-quality basic education for all. IFADEM is aimed at improving the skills of teachers in French and French teaching (contribution of $550,000 over a two-year period starting in 2012).
  • As of May 2012, a Québec education expert has been seconded for a year (with a renewal option) to work on one of six projects under way at the UNESCO office in Port-au-Prince, focusing on decentralization of education system activities outside the Haitian capital.
  • Since January 2012, a Québec government employee has been available to serve as a political affairs consultant at the Organization of American States office in Port-au-Prince.

Québec's initiatives in Haiti before the earthquake

Well before the January 12, 2010, earthquake, Haiti was singled out as an international solidarity priority in Québec’s International Policy. The special relationship between Québec and Haiti may be explained by factors such as the following:

  • common language, i.e., French
  • geographical proximity within the Americas
  • presence of a large Haitian community in Québec
  • presence in Haiti of a number of Québec civil society organizations (NGOs, churches, universities, etc.)

The Québec International Development Program (PQDI)

Haiti is the number-one beneficiary of the Québec International Development Program. Since 1997, more than a hundred projects have received support under the PQDI (total allocation of more than $10 million).

Haitian Governance Enhancement Project (PARGEP)

Via the École nationale d’administration publique (ENAP) in Québec City, Québec has signed a tripartite agreement with Haiti and Canada regarding implementation of the Haitian Governance Enhancement Project (PARGEP). The purpose of this five-year project (2007-2012) is to facilitate the transfer of Québec public service expertise to the Haitian administration, in order to strengthen Haiti’s senior civil service and improve public services provided to Haitians. The Québec government is contributing $1.5 million, in the form of salaries for human resources from its departments and agencies involved in the project. In March 2012, the three government partners authorized the extension of the project for two additional years, up to December 31, 2014.

Strong ties

Québec has established direct ties with the Haitian government. A number of Haitian government ministers have visited Québec in the past few years, and Québec’s Minister of Labour attended the swearing-in ceremony of President Michel Martelly in May 2011. Premier Charest met with former President René Préval on several occasions and carried out a mission to Haiti in 2005. In January and March 2010, he met with Haiti’s Prime Minister of the time, Jean-Max Bellerive.

Québec and Haiti signed a joint declaration on cooperation in the areas of culture and communication on October 18, 2008, during the Francophone Summit in Québec City. In the field of the higher education, an agreement enabling 34 Haitian students per year to pay the same tuition fees as Québec students (instead of the higher fees normally charged to foreign students) was signed in 2011.

The Centre for the International Promotion of Québec Public Expertise (CVIEPQ) is currently involved in three projects in Haiti, the country where it is the most active. One of the projects, spearheaded by the Organization of American States, is aimed at modernizing and integrating Haiti’s civil register.

Police officers from several Québec police forces are present in Haiti as part of the United Nations Stabilization Mission in Haiti (MINUSTAH).

On December 10, 2007, the mayors of Montréal and Port-au-Prince signed a cooperation agreement covering the period from 2008 to 2013. Since the signing of this agreement, the commitment to cooperation has taken the shape of a broader cooperation project under the aegis of the Federation of Canadian Municipalities, the Union des municipalités du Québec (UMQ) and the City of Montréal, funded by the Canadian International Development Agency. The expanded initiative also covers small municipalities in the south of the country.

Centrech Haiti.

Photo: Centrech

Last update: 2017-03-17 3:12:56 PM

Haïti

Le 12 janvier 2010, un terrible séisme ébranle Haïti. En réponse à cette tragédie, une aide financière d'urgence de 3 millions de dollars est versée le 18 janvier par le Gouvernement du Québec à 5 organismes de coopération internationale oeuvrant déjà en Haïti dans le cadre d'opérations humanitaires :

Plusieurs ministères du Gouvernement du Québec ont été impliqués dans la réponse au séisme. Parmi les interventions d’urgence importantes, mentionnons les suivantes :

  • le ministère de l’Emploi et de la Solidarité sociale (MESS) a mis en place un programme d’aide financière d’urgence (PAFU) destiné à répondre aux besoins temporaires des personnes touchées par le séisme;
  • à la demande du Consulat général d’Haïti à Montréal, le ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux (MSSS) a mis à la disposition d’Haïti du matériel et des fournitures médicales d’une valeur de 580 000 $;
  • le ministère de l’Immigration et des Communautés culturelles (MICC) a mis en place un programme exceptionnel de parrainage humanitaire pour Haïti, permettant la venue au Québec de membres de la famille non visés par le programme régulier d’immigration familiale. À la fin du programme, le Ministère estime à environ 5 000 personnes le nombre total de personnes qui seront accueillies au Québec dans le cadre de cette initiative.

Exemples d'actions mises en œuvre

  • Accueil de 4 278 ressortissants canadiens, souvent d'origine haïtienne
  • Ouverture de trois centres d'aide multiservices
  • Exemptions de frais de scolarité à quelque 110 haïtiens

Un engagement à moyen et long terme

Au-delà de l’aide d’urgence, le Gouvernement québécois a maintenu un engagement à moyen et long terme pour la reconstruction d’Haïti. Afin de déterminer les possibilités d’action où le Québec pourrait jouer un rôle déterminant, deux consultations majeures ont été tenues.

  • La tenue d’une rencontre de consultation sur Haïti, le 22 mars 2010, présidée par le ministre des Relations internationales et ministre responsable de la Francophonie. Elle réunissait les principaux acteurs québécois actifs en Haïti, soit des organismes de coopération internationale, des universités et des collèges, des municipalités, des entreprises et des représentants de la diaspora haïtienne.
  • La réalisation d’une mission en Haïti par le ministre des Relations internationales et ministre responsable de la Francophonie, les 30 avril et 1er mai 2010 afin d’avoir une vision sur le terrain de la situation, de constater le travail réalisé par les cinq organismes bénéficiaires de l’aide financière d’urgence du Québec (3 millions de dollars), de rencontrer les autorités politiques haïtiennes, notamment le président de la République, René Garcia Préval, de sonder les besoins du gouvernement haïtien qui pourraient être comblés par l’expertise québécoise et d’apporter un soutien au centre des médias mis sur pied par l’organisme Reporters sans frontières.

À partir des enseignements tirés des consultations effectuées en Haïti auprès de la diaspora et auprès des partenaires québécois actifs en Haïti, le Québec a défini plusieurs interventions qu’il entend déployer en Haïti. Ces interventions se structureront autour de deux axes :

  • le partage de l’expertise, notamment publique;
  • le soutien au développement économique.

Par ailleurs, l’engagement historique du gouvernement québécois en appui à la société civile sera maintenu.

Les actions que le Québec menait déjà en Haïti avant le séisme se poursuivent. Les activités du Projet d’appui au renforcement de la gestion publique en Haïti (PARGEP) ont repris et les projets des organismes de coopération internationale continuent d’être appuyés dans le cadre du Programme québécois de développement international (PQDI).

Parmi les actions entreprises, notons :

  • le déploiement de trois experts en réadaptation physique en Haïti au cours de l’année 2011. Ce projet, doté d’un budget de 90 000 $, a permis un travail d’appui et de formation auprès du personnel local haïtien et a été rendu possible par le ministère des Relations internationales et de la Francophonie (MRIFCE) et le MSSS en association avec Handicap international, un organisme de la société civile québécoise;
  • l’octroi d’une aide de 1 million de dollars sur cinq ans (2010-2015), par le ministère des Relations internationales et de la Francophonie, pour la relance du crédit en Haïti, en collaboration avec Développement international Desjardins (DID), le Réseau des caisses populaires haïtiennes et la Fédération Le Levier. Ce montant sert à alimenter le Fonds de développement de l’entrepreneuriat pour les microentreprises et les petites entreprises en Haïti;
  • le soutien au développement de l’entrepreneuriat chez la jeunesse haïtienne par l’appui à la création d’une association nationale des clubs d’entrepreneurs étudiants d’Haïti, en collaboration avec l’Association des clubs d’entrepreneurs étudiants de la Francophonie (ACEE Francophonie), basée à Montréal, et un partenaire local en Haïti, « ETRE ayisien »;
  • un appel à propositions spécialement consacré à Haïti a été lancé en 2011 à l’intention des municipalités québécoises et françaises qui souhaitent travailler de concert avec un partenaire haïtien dans la mise en œuvre d’un projet de développement local. Un projet a été retenu pour 2012 associant la Conférence régionale des élus de la Chaudière-Appalaches, le Conseil régional de l’Essonne et leur partenaire, le Fonds haïtien d’appui au développement du Sud. Un nouvel appel à projets a été réalisé au printemps 2012;
  • le Secrétariat à l’adoption internationale est actif depuis 2010 auprès du gouvernement haïtien afin de l’accompagner dans la mise en place d’un cadre législatif permettant une meilleure protection des droits fondamentaux des enfants, en conformité avec les normes internationales en vigueur dans le domaine et la Convention de La Haye sur la protection des enfants;
  • la désignation prochaine d’un représentant du Québec à Haïti, qui sera basé à l’ambassade du Canada à Port-au-Prince. Ce représentant aura, entre autres, pour mandat de développer les relations économiques et commerciales entre le Québec et Haïti.

Parallèlement, le Québec tirera avantage de sa présence dans les grandes enceintes internationales pour prolonger et réaffirmer sa solidarité envers Haïti, de concert avec les autres acteurs de la communauté internationale, au sein de l’Organisation internationale de la Francophonie (OIF), de l’UNESCO et de l’Organisation des États américains (OEA). À cet effet, le Québec avait présenté, avec la délégation haïtienne, une résolution en faveur de la reconstruction d’Haïti lors du Sommet de la Francophonie de Montreux (Suisse) les 23 et 24 octobre 2010. Parmi les initiatives appuyées par le Québec, mentionnons :

  • un appui financier important à l’Initiative de formation à distance des maîtres (IFADEM), pilotée par l’OIF et l’AUF, et qui participe aux efforts internationaux en faveur d’une « Éducation de base de qualité pour tous ». IFADEM vise à améliorer les compétences des instituteurs dans l’enseignement du français et en français (contribution de 550 000 $ sur deux ans à partir de 2012);
  • le détachement d’un expert québécois en éducation pour une période d’un an à partir de mai 2012, avec possibilité de renouvellement, afin de travailler à l’un des six chantiers en cours au Bureau de l’UNESCO à Port-au-Prince, à savoir la décentralisation des activités de gestion du système d’éducation à l’extérieur de Port-au-Prince;
  • la mise à la disposition d’une employée québécoise, à partir de janvier 2012, à titre de conseillère aux affaires politiques au Bureau de l’OEA à Port-au-Prince.

L'action du Québec en Haïti antérieurement au séisme

Bien avant le séisme du 12 janvier 2010, Haïti était une priorité de la Politique internationale du Québec, au chapitre de la solidarité internationale. Les éléments rendant particulière la relation entre le Québec et Haïti sont nombreux, parmi eux :

  • le partage d'une langue commune, le français;
  • la proximité géographique et l’appartenance aux Amériques;
  • l’importante communauté d’origine haïtienne établie en sol québécois;
  • les nombreuses organisations de la société civile québécoise (ONG, églises, universités, etc.) installées en Haïti.

Programme québécois de développement international

Haïti est le premier pays bénéficiaire du Programme québécois de développement international (PQDI). Depuis 1997, plus d'une centaine de projets ont été appuyés, pour une enveloppe globale de plus de 10 millions de dollars.

Projet d'appui au renforcement de la gestion publique

Le Québec a signé une entente tripartite avec Haïti et le Canada pour la mise en œuvre, par l’École nationale d’administration publique de Québec, du Projet d’appui au renforcement de la gestion publique (PARGEP). Le projet quinquennal (2007-2012) a pour objectif de faciliter le transfert de l’expertise de l’administration publique québécoise vers l’administration haïtienne afin de contribuer au renforcement de la haute fonction publique en Haïti et d’améliorer les services publics offerts à la population haïtienne. La contribution du gouvernement du Québec, sous forme de salaire des ressources humaines, de ses ministères et des organismes qui interviennent dans le projet, s’élève à 1,5 million de dollars. En mars 2012, les trois gouvernements partenaires ont autorisé la prolongation du projet pour deux années supplémentaires, soit jusqu’au 31 décembre 2014.

Des liens solides

Le Québec a établi des liens directs avec le gouvernement haïtien. Plusieurs ministres haïtiens ont visité le Québec au cours des dernières années et la ministre du Travail du Québec a assisté à l’assermentation du président Michel Martelly, en mai 2011. Quant à lui, le premier ministre a rencontré à plusieurs reprises l’ancien président, M. René Préval, et avait réalisé une mission en Haïti en 2005. En janvier et en mars 2010, il avait aussi rencontré le premier ministre haïtien de l’époque, M. Jean-Max Bellerive.

Le Québec et Haïti ont également signé la Déclaration commune de coopération dans les domaines de la culture et de la communication, en marge du Sommet de la Francophonie de Québec, le 18 octobre 2008. En éducation, une entente dans le domaine de l’enseignement supérieur (portant sur les bourses d’exemption des droits de scolarité) a été signée en 2011, ce qui permet à 34 étudiants haïtiens de bénéficier annuellement du même tarif de droits de scolarité que les étudiants québécois.

Pour sa part, le Centre de valorisation internationale de l’expertise publique québécoise (CVIEPQ) mène plusieurs projets en Haïti, sur le territoire où le celui-ci est le plus actif. Il y mène actuellement trois projets, dont une participation au projet de l’Organisation des États américains sur la modernisation et l’intégration du registre de l’état civil en Haïti.

Il est également important de mentionner la présence de policiers québécois, provenant de plusieurs corps policiers de la province au sein de la Mission des Nations Unies pour la stabilisation en Haïti (MINUSTAH).

Enfin, les maires de Montréal et de Port-au-Prince ont signé, le 10 décembre 2007 à Montréal, un protocole de coopération pour la période de 2008 à 2013. Cet engagement prend désormais la forme d’un projet de coopération plus large, piloté par la Fédération canadienne des municipalités (FCM), l’Union des municipalités du Québec et la Ville de Montréal, et financé par l’Agence canadienne de développement international (ACDI). Le projet touche aussi de petites municipalités du sud du pays.

Centrech Haïti.

Photo: Centrech

Dernière mise à jour : 2017-03-17 15:12:56