Québec and solidarity

Solidarity is a priority in Québec’s international initiatives. Its actions in this area are consistent with the 2030 Agenda For Sustainable Development adopted by the United Nations in September 2015, and allow Québec to act effectively in response to global issues such as human rights, sustainable development, gender equality and inclusive growth. Québec’s international solidarity initiatives are focused primarily in two regions: the Francophonie and Latin America/West Indies, particularly Haiti.

Supporting civil society organizations

The Government of Québec recognizes the contributions of civil society organizations to socio-economic development, the exercise of citizenship and the forging of fair and solidary relationships between peoples. It teams up with international cooperation organizations (ICOs) that possess expertise and a network of partners in developing countries to do outreach work with local communities.

The Ministère des Relations internationales et de la Francophonie coordinates three programs:

  • Development projects
  • Projects introducing youth to international solidarity internships
  • Global citizenship educational activities

Since 1997, the Ministère des Relations internationales et de la Francophonie

  • has been collaborating with over one hundred international cooperation organizations
  • has provided financial support for more than 650 international development projects
  • has been present in over 50 countries throughout the world.

Sharing public service expertise

Québec's solidarity commitment is likewise carried out by sharing the know-how of its public institutions with developing countries. In doing so, Québec collaborates in the capacity building of its partners and their communities. The Haitian Governance Enhancement Project (PARGEP) is clear example of how Québec can significantly contribute to international solidarity efforts.

Québec also has other tools for sharing its public service expertise, including support for international students through tuition waivers. For more information, please refer to the Exemptions Granted by Virtue of Cooperation Agreements on the website of the Ministère de l'Éducation, des Loisirs et du Sport du Québec.

La Francophonie

The Government of Québec is a member of the International Organization of La Francophonie and actively participates in initiatives by Francophonie organizations in a variety of areas such as:

  • education and culture
  • democracy
  • the French language
  • sustainable development.

Over 10 million dollars per year are allocated to international solidarity activities in developing countries that are members of La Francophonie.

Emergency aid

Québec provides various forms of assistance to developing countries during humanitarian disasters.

  • In collaboration with the Ministère des Relations internationales et de la Francophonie, the Civil Security Disaster Committee is mandated to coordinate the Québec government's action in the event of humanitarian disasters in affected countries by making experts and equipment available.

This type of response was especially needed in the aftermath of the January, 2010 earthquake in Haiti.

  • As part of the Québec International Development Program, the Government of Québec supports emergency aid responses headed by Québec international cooperation organizations in the most vulnerable countries, primarily those in Francophone Africa, Latin America and the Antilles.

In recent years

The Ministère des Relations internationales et de la Francophonie has, for example, provided support for emergency initiatives in the following countries and regions:

  • Democratic Republic of Congo, 2013: humanitarian assistance to families that were victims of clashes in North Kivu
  • West Africa, 2014: assistance to fight the Ebola epidemic
  • Lebanon, 2015: emergency response to meet the needs of vulnerable persons fleeing the conflict in Syria
  • Haiti, 2016: assistance for people affected by Hurricane Matthew, which caused extensive damage

To contact us

International Solidarity
Ministère des Relations internationales et de la Francophonie
525 René-Lévesque Blvd. East
Québec (Québec) G1R 5R9
Phone: 418 649-2341
Fax: 418 649-2664
Email

Last update: 2017-04-24 3:57:24 PM

Québec et la solidarité

La solidarité est un volet prioritaire de l’action internationale du Québec. Ses actions dans ce domaine sont en ligne avec le Programme de développement durable à l’horizon 2030, adopté par les Nations Unies en septembre 2015, et lui permettent d’apporter une réponse tangible à des défis globaux comme les droits de la personne, le développement durable, l’égalité entre les femmes et les hommes et la croissance inclusive. En solidarité internationale, le Québec agit prioritairement dans deux régions : la Francophonie et l’Amérique latine et les Antilles, en particulier Haïti.

Appui aux organismes de la société civile

Le Gouvernement du Québec reconnait la contribution des organisations de la société civile à l’exercice de la citoyenneté, au développement social et économique et à la construction de rapports plus justes et solidaires entre les peuples. Il s’associe avec des organismes de coopération internationale (OCI) qui possèdent une expertise et un réseau de partenaires dans les pays en développement avec qui ils effectuent un travail de proximité auprès des communautés.

Le ministère des Relations internationales et de la Francophonie coordonne trois programmes venant en appui à des initiatives menées par des OCI québécois :

  • projets de développement
  • projets d’initiation à la solidarité internationale impliquant des jeunes
  • activités d’éducation à la citoyenneté mondiale

Depuis 1997, le ministère des Relations internationales et de la Francophonie

  • collabore avec plus d'une centaine d'organismes de coopération internationale
  • a appuyé financièrement la réalisation de plus de 650 projets de développement international
  • a été présent dans plus de 50 pays à travers le monde.

Partage de l'expertise publique

L'engagement solidaire du Québec s'exprime également par le partage du savoir-faire de ses institutions publiques avec les pays en développement. Ce faisant, le Québec collabore au développement des capacités de ses partenaires et de leur population. Le Projet d'appui au renforcement de la gestion publique en Haïti (PARGEP) illustre comment il peut apporter une contribution significative aux efforts de solidarité internationale.

Le Québec dispose aussi d'autres outils lui permettant de partager son expertise publique, notamment le soutien aux étudiants étrangers par l'intermédiaire d'exemptions de droits de scolarité. Pour plus d'information consulter la section Exemptions accordées en vertu des ententes de coopération sur le site du ministère de l'Éducation, des Loisirs et du Sport du Québec.

La Francophonie

Le Gouvernement du Québec, membre de l'Organisation internationale de la Francophonie, participe activement aux initiatives de l'ensemble des organismes de la Francophonie dans plusieurs domaines comme :

  • l'éducation la culture
  • la démocratie
  • la langue française
  • le développement durable.

Plus de 10 millions de dollars par année sont attribués aux activités de solidarité internationale dans les pays en développement membres de la Francophonie.

Aide d'urgence

Le Québec apporte son soutien sous diverses formes lors de catastrophes humanitaires impliquant des pays en développement.

  • En concertation avec le ministère des Relations internationales et de la Francophonie, le Comité d'urgence de la sécurité civile a le mandat de coordonner l'intervention du Gouvernement du Québec lors de catastrophes humanitaires dans des pays sinistrés en mettant à disposition des experts et des équipements.

Ce type d'intervention a notamment été requis à la suite du séisme survenu en Haïti, en janvier 2010.

  • Dans le cadre du Programme québécois de développement international, le Gouvernement du Québec soutient des interventions d’aide d'urgence menées par des organismes québécois de coopération internationale dans les pays les plus démunis, en priorité ceux d'Afrique francophone, d'Amérique latine et des Antilles.

Au cours des dernières années

Le ministère des Relations internationales et de la Francophonie a, par exemple, appuyé des initiatives d'urgence dans les pays suivants :

  • République Démocratique du Congo, 2013 : Assistance humanitaire à des ménages victimes des affrontements au Nord-Kivu
  • Afrique de l’Ouest, 2014 : lutte contre l’épidémie d’Ebola
  • Liban, 2015 : Réponse d’urgence aux besoins des personnes vulnérables ayant fui le conflit syrien
  • Haïti, 2016 : aide aux populations touchées par l’ouragan Matthew qui a causé d’importants dommages et de nombreuses pertes de vies humaines

Pour nous joindre

Solidarité internationale
Ministère des Relations internationales et de la Francophonie
525, boulevard René-Lévesque Est
Québec (Québec) G1R 5R9
Téléphone : 418 649-2341
Télécopieur : 418 649-2664
Courriel

Dernière mise à jour : 2017-08-01 11:42:56