International priorities

Under its enabling legislation, the Ministère des Relations internationales et de la Francophonie (MRIF) is charged with coordinating the Government of Québec’s actions abroad. This is why, in cooperation with other government departments and agencies, it is responsible for tackling key government priorities such as the Plan Nord, the Maritime Strategy, transportation electrification, and the promotion of educational opportunities as well as digital technology and artificial intelligence.

To this end, through its network of offices located around the world, MRIF allocates the resources required to achieve the objectives of these priorities.

Plan Nord

The Plan Nord reflects the Government of Québec’s ambition to implement one of the largest sustainable development projects in the world.

Plan Nord

Mindful of the need to combine economic, social and environmental interests, the goal of the Plan Nord is to provide outstanding business opportunities and, at the same time, enhance the development and well-being of local communities, including the First Nations and the Inuit. The Plan Nord applies to all the territory north of the 49th parallel, an area covering nearly 1.2 million square kilometres.

The Plan Nord offers foreign companies and investors numerous opportunities in a broad range of sectors (mining, renewable energies, etc.), opportunities that include the social, cultural, environmental and tourism aspects.

Developed and implemented in collaboration with local communities and based on the principles of sustainable development, the Plan Nord aims to become an international reference in sustainable northern development. With a view to increasing scientific knowledge and its application in the territory covered by the Plan Nord, the Government of Québec provides support for the Institut nordique du Québec (INQ). This research partnership is unprecedented in the university community.

For more information, visit the Plan Nord website.

Maritime Strategy

The mightiest of our waterways, the St. Lawrence River offers unique development opportunities for all regions of Québec.

The Maritime Strategy, which was launched in June 2015, provides for investments in maritime infrastructure and services for companies in order to position Québec as a world player in maritime transportation and related services. It will enable companies to be part of a high value-added logistical process through the development of intermodal transportation hubs and special access to North American markets. The government also wishes to foster the development of knowledge in the maritime sector and encourage international partnerships. Lastly, Québec will become a destination of choice for international cruises with the modernization of the port facilities in Québec City and Montréal.

For more information, visit the Maritime Strategy website.

Transportation electrification and sustainable mobility

For several years now, the Government of Québec has been committed to transportation electrification with an eye to environmental and economic considerations.

Électrification des transports

On October 9, 2015, the Government of Québec unveiled its 2015-2020 Transportation Electrification Action Plan. As a complement to the Action Plan, the government adopted, on April 17, 2018, its 2030 Sustainable Mobility Policy. This Policy, as well as the associated Action Plan, are powerful drivers of growth and development for all related industrial sectors. As a result, a variety of programs and measures have been implemented to encourage the electrification of individual, public and freight transportation in Québec. This field offers a host of avenues for scientific cooperation, the export of Québec know-how and business opportunities for foreign investors. Several government departments and agencies are involved in this government priority, which is coordinated by the Ministère des Transports, de la Mobilité durable et de l’Électrification des transports, once again testifying to Québec leadership in the fight against climate change.

For more information, visit www.transportselectriques.gouv.qc.ca.

Promotion of educational opportunities

Attracting international students is a priority for the Government of Québec. Québec’s educational opportunities are characterized by a number of distinctive features.

Culture et identité

The quality of teaching and state-of-the art equipment contribute to the excellent reputation of Québec’s educational institutions. Québec is also an ideal place to study, in particular because of its quality of life and affordable cost of living compared to many American and European study destinations. Québec educational institutions offer a broad range of programs at all levels of education. These programs are outward-looking and meet the most stringent international requirements and standards of excellence.

Digital technology and artificial intelligence

On December 13, 2017, the Government of Québec launched the Québec Digital Strategy. The goal of this forward-looking strategy is to promote coherent government actions aimed at ramping up the development of a veritable digital culture in all sectors of Québec society. The prospects for Québec digital company growth on the international scene are considerable. However, in order to capture new markets and strengthen its position as a world leader, Québec must maintain its promotional efforts, notably by building a strong, shared brand image that emphasizes our strengths and raises the visibility of the sector worldwide.

Québec is also recognized on the international scene for its strength in the field of artificial intelligence (AI). The development of AI is contributing to the advancement of Québec through the attraction of investments and talent, as well as the creation of international collaborative partnerships.

Last update: 2018-08-14 9:31:44 AM

Priorités internationales

De par sa loi constitutive, le ministère des Relations internationales et de la Francophonie (MRIF) veille à la coordination de l’action du gouvernement du Québec à l’étranger. C’est pourquoi, de concert avec les ministères et organismes concernés, il a la responsabilité de promouvoir notamment les grandes priorités gouvernementales que sont, le Plan Nord, la Stratégie maritime, l’électrification des transports, la promotion de l’offre éducative, de même que le numérique et l’intelligence artificielle. Pour ce faire, par l’intermédiaire de son réseau de représentations réparti aux quatre coins du monde, le MRIF déploie les ressources nécessaires à l’atteinte des objectifs de ces priorités.

Plan Nord

Le Plan Nord traduit l’ambition du gouvernement du Québec de déployer l’un des plus importants projets de développement durable au monde.

Plan Nord

Soucieux de conjuguer les volets économique, social et environnemental, le Plan Nord promet des occasions d’affaires incontournables, en plus de permettre le développement et le mieux-être des communautés locales, dont les Premières Nations et les Inuits. Le territoire du Plan Nord, situé au nord du 49e parallèle, couvre près de 1,2 million de kilomètres carrés. Le Plan Nord offre aux entreprises et aux investisseurs étrangers de nombreuses possibilités dans un large éventail de secteurs (mines, énergies renouvelables, etc.) en intégrant les volets social, culturel, environnemental et touristique. Élaboré et mis en œuvre en collaboration avec les communautés locales et prenant appui sur les principes du développement durable, le Plan Nord vise à devenir une référence mondiale en matière de développement nordique durable. Afin d’accroitre la connaissance scientifique et son application sur le territoire du Plan Nord, le gouvernement du Québec soutient l’Institut nordique du Québec (INQ). Ce partenariat de recherche est sans précédent dans le milieu universitaire.

Pour plus d’informations, consultez le site Web du Plan Nord.

Stratégie maritime

Le plus majestueux de nos cours d’eau, le fleuve Saint-Laurent, offre des occasions uniques de développement dans toutes les régions du Québec.

La Stratégie maritime, lancée en juin 2015, prévoit des investissements dans les infrastructures maritimes et des aménagements au service des entreprises afin de positionner le Québec comme joueur mondial dans le domaine du transport maritime et des services qui y sont liés. Elle permettra aux entreprises de s’intégrer à un processus logistique performant par le développement du transport intermodal et l’accès privilégié aux marchés nord-américains. Le gouvernement souhaite également favoriser le développement des connaissances dans le domaine maritime et encourager les collaborations internationales. Enfin, le Québec deviendra une destination de choix pour les croisières internationales avec la modernisation des infrastructures d’accueil à Québec et à Montréal.

Pour plus d’informations, consultez le site Web de la Stratégie maritime.

Électrification des transports et mobilité durable

Depuis plusieurs années, le gouvernement du Québec s’est engagé sur la voie de l’électrification des transports, avec des visées environnementales et économiques.

Électrification des transports

Le 9 octobre 2015, le gouvernement du Québec a dévoilé le Plan d’action en électrification des transports 2015-2020. S’ajoutant au Plan d’action en électrification des transports 2015-2020, le gouvernement s’est doté le 17 avril 2018 de la Politique de mobilité durable à l’horizon 2030. Cette politique, ainsi que le plan d’action qui en découle, constitue un puissant levier de croissance et de développement pour l’ensemble des filières industrielles qui y sont associées. Ainsi, une variété de programmes et de mesures sont proposés pour soutenir l’électrification du transport individuel, collectif et de marchandises au Québec. De nombreuses avenues d’exportation du savoir-faire québécois, de coopération scientifique ou d’occasions d’affaires au Québec pour des investisseurs étrangers sont possibles. Plusieurs ministères et organismes sont engagés dans ce dossier, coordonné par le ministère des Transports, de la Mobilité durable et de l’Électrification des transports, qui démontre une fois de plus le leadership du Québec dans la lutte contre les changements climatiques.

Pour plus d’informations, consultez le site www.transportselectriques.gouv.qc.ca.

Promotion de l’offre éducative

L’attraction d’étudiantes et d’étudiants internationaux est une priorité pour le gouvernement du Québec. L’offre québécoise en éducation se caractérise par plusieurs attraits distinctifs.

Culture et identité

La qualité de l’enseignement et des équipements à la fine pointe de la technologie confère aux établissements d’enseignement québécois une excellente réputation. Le Québec constitue également un endroit idéal pour étudier, notamment en raison de sa qualité de vie et de son coût de la vie abordable comparativement à plusieurs destinations d’études américaines ou européennes. Les établissements d’enseignement québécois offrent un large éventail de programmes de formation à tous les ordres d’enseignement. Ces programmes sont ouverts sur le monde et répondent aux exigences et aux normes d’excellence internationales les plus élevées.

Numérique et intelligence artificielle

Le 13 décembre 2017, le gouvernement du Québec a lancé la Stratégie numérique du Québec, qui jette un regard sur l’avenir en assurant la cohérence de l’ensemble des actions gouvernementales afin d’accélérer l’essor, dans tous les milieux, d’une véritable culture numérique. Les perspectives de croissance des entreprises numériques québécoises à l’international sont considérables. Ainsi, pour conquérir de nouveaux marchés et renforcer sa position de chef de file mondial, le Québec doit poursuivre ses efforts de promotion, notamment à l’aide d’une image de marque forte et partagée afin de faire valoir nos forces et d’accroitre la notoriété du secteur à l’international.

Le Québec est également reconnu sur la scène internationale pour sa force dans le domaine de l’intelligence artificielle (IA). Le développement de l’IA contribue à l’avancement du Québec et nécessite l’attraction d’investissements, de talents et la création de partenariats internationaux de collaboration.

Dernière mise à jour : 2018-06-07 11:04:39