UNESCO Convention on the Protection and Promotion of the Diversity of cultural expressions

On November 10, 2005, Québec became the world’s first government to approve the text of the UNESCO Convention on the Protection and Promotion of the Diversity of Cultural Expressions. Since then, it has been an active participant in the Convention’s concrete implementation, especially in the digital age.

Under the terms of the Agreement between the Government of Canada and the Government of Québec on UNESCO, a Québec delegation travels regularly to UNESCO headquarters in Paris to take part in the work of the Convention’s governing bodies, ensure follow-up on various matters, and participate directly in developing Canadian positions in such a way that they take Québec’s interests into account.

The Convention was adopted by the UNESCO General Conference on October 20, 2005. It was negotiated primarily to meet the needs of States and governments that, while liberalizing their markets, wished to preserve their right to maintain, develop and implement policies supporting culture and the diversity of cultural expressions.

To date, 145 countries, in addition to the European Union, have ratified the Convention.

The governments of Québec and Canada played a major role in the process leading to the Convention’s adoption. Canada ratified the Convention on November 28, 2005, and was the first State to do so.

The Convention’s main objectives

  • Reaffirm the right of States and governments to formulate and implement cultural policies;
  • Recognize the specific nature of cultural activities, goods and services as vehicles of identity, values and meaning, which must therefore not be treated as having solely commercial value;
  • Foster international cooperation in order to protect and promote the diversity of cultural expressions, particularly in developing countries.

Who are the beneficiaries?

The Convention benefits artists, professionals and cultural practitioners, public and private cultural enterprises and organizations, and citizens the world over by ensuring that they have the possibility to create, produce, disseminate, and have access to a broad range of cultural goods, services and activities, including their own.

The Convention also contains provisions on international cooperation that provide support to developing countries. These provisions, including the establishment of the International Fund for Cultural Diversity, are aimed in particular at developing strong cultural sectors that can contribute to a true diversity of cultural expressions on the national and international scene.

The underlying issue of the diversity of cultural expressions

The fundamental issue underlying the diversity of cultural expressions is the preservation of the capacity of States and governments to devise and implement their cultural policies. Artists and other professionals in the cultural sector are deeply affected by this matter since they rely on support stemming from such policies.

More generally, there is widespread concern in the international community that applying purely market rules to cultural sectors leads to cultural homogenization and the disappearance of some cultures in favour of those that are the most “profitable”.

This is the context that brought about the Convention.

Québec government support

The Québec government provides financial support to the Coalition for the Diversity of Cultural Expressions, a Canadian organization that includes some thirty associations representing artists and other professionals in the cultural sector across the country.

The Coalition has done outstanding work to maximize the number of ratifications of the Convention. It strives to defend the Convention’s basic principles as well as to promote the International Fund for Cultural Diversity (IFCD) and cooperation with developing countries.

The IFCD is funded by voluntary contributions from the States Parties to the Convention. Its purpose is to promote sustainable development and poverty reduction in developing countries by financing projects that will foster the emergence of a dynamic cultural sector in these countries.

Last update: 2019-04-18 10:12:02 AM

La Convention sur la protection et la promotion de la diversité des expressions culturelles de l’UNESCO

Le Québec est devenu, le 10 novembre 2005, le premier gouvernement au monde à approuver le texte de la Convention sur la protection et la promotion de la diversité des expressions culturelles de l’UNESCO. Depuis, il participe activement à sa mise en œuvre concrète, particulièrement à l’ère numérique.

Conformément aux termes de l’Accord entre le gouvernement du Québec et le gouvernement du Canada relatif à l’UNESCO, une délégation québécoise se rend régulièrement au siège de l’UNESCO, à Paris, pour participer aux travaux des organes directeurs de la Convention, assurer le suivi des divers dossiers et participer directement à l’élaboration des positions canadiennes de façon à ce que ces dernières prennent en compte les intérêts du Québec.

La Convention a été adoptée le 20 octobre 2005 par la Conférence générale de l’UNESCO. Elle a été négociée principalement pour répondre aux besoins des États et gouvernements qui, tout en libéralisant leurs marchés, souhaitaient conserver leur droit de maintenir, de développer et de mettre en œuvre des politiques de soutien à la culture et à la diversité des expressions culturelles.

À ce jour, 145 pays, en plus de l’Union européenne, l’ont ratifiée.

Les gouvernements du Québec et du Canada ont été des acteurs prédominants dans le processus ayant mené à l’adoption de la Convention. Le Canada a été le premier État à ratifier la Convention, le 28 novembre 2005.

Principaux objectifs de la Convention

  • Réaffirmer le droit des États et des gouvernements de formuler et de mettre en œuvre des politiques culturelles;
  • Reconnaître la nature spécifique des activités, des biens et des services culturels comme étant porteurs d’identités, de valeurs et de sens et ne devant pas être traités comme ayant exclusivement une valeur commerciale;
  • Encourager la coopération internationale en vue de protéger et de promouvoir la diversité des expressions culturelles, et ce, particulièrement auprès des pays en développement.

Qui sont les bénéficiaires?

La Convention bénéficie aux artistes, aux professionnels et praticiens de la culture, aux entreprises et aux organismes culturels publics ou privés et aux citoyens du monde entier, en leur assurant la possibilité de créer, de produire, de diffuser et d’avoir accès à un large éventail de biens, de services et d’activités culturels, y compris les leurs.

La Convention contient également diverses dispositions en matière de coopération internationale qui offrent un soutien aux pays en développement. Ces dispositions, dont le Fonds international pour la diversité culturelle, visent notamment le développement de secteurs culturels forts qui puissent contribuer à une véritable diversité des expressions culturelles sur la scène nationale et internationale.

Enjeu de la diversité des expressions culturelles

L’enjeu fondamental relatif à la diversité des expressions culturelles est la préservation de la capacité des États et des gouvernements d’élaborer et de mettre en œuvre leurs politiques culturelles. Les artistes et autres professionnels de la culture sont fortement interpellés par ce dossier, car ils comptent sur le soutien procuré par de telles politiques.

Plus globalement, la crainte répandue parmi la communauté internationale est que la seule application des règles du marché aux secteurs culturels mène à l’homogénéisation des cultures et à la disparition de certaines au profit des plus « rentables ».

C’est dans ce contexte qu’a vu le jour la Convention.

Soutien du gouvernement du Québec

Le gouvernement du Québec soutient financièrement la Coalition pour la diversité des expressions culturelles, un organisme canadien qui regroupe une trentaine d’associations d’artistes et d’autres professionnels de la culture à travers le pays.

La Coalition a accompli un travail remarquable pour maximiser le nombre de ratifications à la Convention. Elle travaille à défendre les principes à la base de la Convention, de même qu’à promouvoir le Fonds international pour la diversité culturelle (FIDC) et la coopération avec les pays en développement.

Le FIDC est financé par des contributions volontaires des États parties à la Convention. Son objectif est de promouvoir le développement durable et la réduction de la pauvreté dans les pays en développement en finançant des projets qui favoriseront l’émergence d’un secteur culturel dynamique dans ces pays.

Dernière mise à jour : 2019-04-18 10:12:02